Grease spell question

apsuman said:
So, after the postings of Camarath I am even more convinced that whatever save has to be made it is the character's Reflex save that is used.
This is how I see the situation. The gease spell states that the item gets the saving throw not the wielder or user of the object. If the item is magical it always get a save whether it is attended or not, it uses its wielders saving throw bonus or 2 + one-half its caster level (round down) which ever is better. If the item is not magical it only gets a save if it is attended and this save uses its wielders saving throw bonus.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

apsuman said:
If the item were magical and the spell were damaging it would get a saving throw. (Does not apply as Grease is not damaging.)
It also gets a save if "it is specifically targeted by the effect" which it is in this use of the grease spell.
 


Camarath said:
It also gets a save if "it is specifically targeted by the effect" which it is in this use of the grease spell.

Given that the SRD citation you made is under the category of DAMAGING MAGIC ITEMS, and the Grease spell does no damage, I would think that the magic item would normally (unattended in this example) get no save.

g!
 

apsuman said:
Given that the SRD citation you made is under the category of DAMAGING MAGIC ITEMS, and the Grease spell does no damage, I would think that the magic item would normally (unattended in this example) get no save.

g!
Please explain this senetence under Saving Throws.
SRD said:
Magic items always get saving throws.
 


melkoriii said:
That would be in as unattended as unattended items do not get saving throws.
Are you saying magical items do not get saving throws when unattended because nonmagical, unattended items never make saving throws, even thought the rules state magical items always get saving throws?
 

Camarath said:
Are you saying magical items do not get saving throws when unattended because nonmagical, unattended items never make saving throws, even thought the rules state magical items always get saving throws?

No I was saying that the quote you posted
Originally Posted by Camarath
Please explain this senetence under Saving Throws.

is refering to unatended magic items. They are telling us that they get a saving throw even though normally unattended items dont get one.
 

melkoriii said:
No I was saying that the quote you posted is refering to unatended magic items. They are telling us that they get a saving throw even though normally unattended items dont get one.
I was responding to this statement, in which apsuman says an unattended magic item would get no save.
apsuman said:
Given that the SRD citation you made is under the category of DAMAGING MAGIC ITEMS, and the Grease spell does no damage, I would think that the magic item would normally (unattended in this example) get no save.

g!
I guess I should have said if that is true would you please explain this quote to me since it IMO means unattended magic items would get a save.

Edit: sorry for the misunderstanding
 
Last edited:

Camarath said:
I was responding to this statement, in which apsuman says an unattended magic item would get no save. I guess I should have said if that is true would you please explain this quote to me since it IMO means unattended magic items would get a save.

Edit: sorry for the misunderstanding

NP

My thing about this is that unattended do get a save.

attended items ONLY get a save if its damageing a Magic item.
Otherwise the wielder is the one who makes the save.
 

Remove ads

Top