Half-orc Paladin MC

michaeljpastor

Adventurer
I'm a blue book veteran of D&D new to 5e, doing research for a new character, and feeling nooby all over again.

Ive never played any type of fighter - always a caster, rogue or bow wielder. So i can't get away from some sort of magic wielder completely. After some thought i went with half-orc paladin who is fighting to rescue other half-orcs and create a nation of noble warriors who at most are mercenaries. Then i thought, well that all seems a bit Klingonish, which i later found out was a pretty common story and sentiment both. It was either back to the drawing board or go with it and im going with it regardless.

So my real question is my eventual multiclass choice, and the two other CH based casters i keep considering are sorcerer (wild mage) and warlock (and possibly hexblade, but im seeing a conflict of loyalties there - he doesn't need any more, really). If i really wanted to embrace the klingon archetype and have fun, picking bard and singing klingony opera would be a blast, but i hate the spell list. Plus, i want to become the legend, not sing about others LOL. Maybe waaay down the road ill tack it on.

So some guidance of choice would be helpful. That includes alignment and deities - I'd prefer to not be evil.

aco175

Legend
You have several 3rd level paths you can take without multiclassing.

I would picture a sorcerer more a noble/good type over a warlock, but this is just my opinion.

I

Immortal Sun

You could probably get spells and do battle just by being a battle cleric, they cover the job pretty well in 5E.

Also: Bards can totally sing about themselves. Tales of your Heroic Deeds* are exactly what you companions need to hear to inspire them to battle.

*Heroic deeds may or may not have actually happened. Bard does not assume responsibility for the belief that anything he says is actually true. If you experience Heroism for more than 4 hours, please consult your Druid.

Kobold Stew