So I had a question about hand crossbows. In the equipment section, it specifically says "You can shoot a hand crossbow with each hand, but you take a penalty on attack rolls as if attacking with two weapons." So as a full round action, I can fire off two shots with the hand crossbow. The attack roll penalties follow the two weapon fighting rules. That's fine. My question has to do with reloading. It says "You can shoot, but not load, a hand crossbow with one hand at no penalty." So to load a hand crossbow, you need two hands. Okay. What happens if your other hand is holding another hand crossbow? Does this mean to reload my hand crossbow I need to "sheathe" my 2nd hand crossbow (which is a move action) or drop it (free action)? If I "sheathe" my 2nd hand crossbow, then to reload that, I need to retrieve it (as a move action) the reload it (as a move action unless I have Rapid Reload feat)?
Bertman
Bertman