handful of question

Luguolo

First Post
so i ran into some snags today and was looking to clarify some things.

so, first, reach, is someone infront of me considered 5 feet away? this question comes up for a few reasons, this particular time was over obscuring mist. is someone infront of me considered 5 feet away (20% concealment)? and is someone with one square between us 10 feet away (50% concealment)?

i personally use the rule, my reach is UP TO whatever it says (so 15 foot reach, i can reach to the tip of the 3rd square (or second if on a diagonal) but not the next. i also wondered if the whip dagger threatened squares, it came up in the 3.0 suppliment Arms and Equipment Guide and i am trying to convert it.

i have other questions however i am out of time and will add them as i get the time, thank you!
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

With your first question, you are correct.

Your personal rule is incorrect. 15' reach means it can reach 3 squares. If something occupies that 3rd square, you can hit it.

All whips and whip daggers do not threaten squares. They act as ranged weapons. Whip daggers have the benifit of dealing real damage and can have strength modifiers added to them.
 

All whips and whip daggers do not threaten squares. They act as ranged weapons. Whip daggers have the benifit of dealing real damage and can have strength modifiers added to them.
Nebten, you still platying 3.0?
Whips are melee weapons in 3.5. They can Power Attack, add Str to damage, Threaten, etc now.
 

From the 3.5 SRD

Whip
A whip deals nonlethal damage. It deals no damage to any creature with an armor bonus of +1 or higher or a natural armor bonus of +3 or higher. The whip is treated as a melee weapon with 15-foot reach, though you don’t threaten the area into which you can make an attack. In addition, unlike most other weapons with reach, you can use it against foes anywhere within your reach (including adjacent foes).

Using a whip provokes an attack of opportunity, just as if you had used a ranged weapon.

You can make trip attacks with a whip. If you are tripped during your own trip attempt, you can drop the whip to avoid being tripped.

When using a whip, you get a +2 bonus on opposed attack rolls made to disarm an opponent (including the roll to keep from being disarmed if the attack fails).

You can use the Weapon Finesse feat to apply your Dexterity modifier instead of your Strength modifier to attack rolls with a whip sized for you, even though it isn’t a light weapon for you.
 

Faster than me.....

But:

From the SRD:

The whip is treated as a melee weapon with 15-foot reach, though you don’t threaten the area into which you can make an attack. In addition, unlike most other weapons with reach, you can use it against foes anywhere within your reach (including adjacent foes).
Using a whip provokes an attack of opportunity, just as if you had used a ranged weapon.
 
Last edited:

With your first question, you are correct.

Your personal rule is incorrect. 15' reach means it can reach 3 squares. If something occupies that 3rd square, you can hit it.

All whips and whip daggers do not threaten squares. They act as ranged weapons. Whip daggers have the benifit of dealing real damage and can have strength modifiers added to them.

alright lets start with i have no personal rule, i meant the tip as in the opposite end, meaning i could hit the 3rd square to its edge, but nothing beyond that. and ya ranged weapon for whips left in 3.5

From the 3.5 SRD

Whip
A whip deals nonlethal damage. It deals no damage to any creature with an armor bonus of +1 or higher or a natural armor bonus of +3 or higher. The whip is treated as a melee weapon with 15-foot reach, though you don’t threaten the area into which you can make an attack. In addition, unlike most other weapons with reach, you can use it against foes anywhere within your reach (including adjacent foes).

Using a whip provokes an attack of opportunity, just as if you had used a ranged weapon.

You can make trip attacks with a whip. If you are tripped during your own trip attempt, you can drop the whip to avoid being tripped.

When using a whip, you get a +2 bonus on opposed attack rolls made to disarm an opponent (including the roll to keep from being disarmed if the attack fails).

You can use the Weapon Finesse feat to apply your Dexterity modifier instead of your Strength modifier to attack rolls with a whip sized for you, even though it isn’t a light weapon for you.

this is useless to me, i KNOW what the PHB says about whips but i asked about WHIP DAGGERS. yes lets all use bold and feel special. in any case, i am asking how to convert the 3.0 whip dagger to 3.5 rules, i know the whip deals non-lethal and doesnt threaten, but would one with a blade attacked do the same? no, obviously it deals letal damage now, but what about threat? and is it still an AoE to use since it is indeed bladed. i can read as well as anyone else so lets try to NOT quote books.

Faster than me.....

But:

From the SRD:

The whip is treated as a melee weapon with 15-foot reach, though you don’t threaten the area into which you can make an attack. In addition, unlike most other weapons with reach, you can use it against foes anywhere within your reach (including adjacent foes).
Using a whip provokes an attack of opportunity, just as if you had used a ranged weapon.

no better, you just made the exact same quote he did, and again, i can read, if it was about that i would ask for a page number, i specifically said "i also wondered if the whip dagger threatened squares, it came up in the 3.0 suppliment Arms and Equipment Guide and i am trying to convert it." see that? the bolded part? CONVERT IT not read what the non-bladed version does, not quote the SRD, not tell me what a suppliment says, i need help CONVERTING it, which obviously hasnt been done yet.
 
Last edited:

this is useless to me, i KNOW what the PHB says about whips but i asked about WHIP DAGGERS. yes lets all use bold and feel special. in any case, i am asking how to convert the 3.0 whip dagger to 3.0 rules, i know the whip deals non-lethal and doesnt threaten, but would one with a blade attacked do the same? no, obviously it deals letal damage now, but what about threat? and is it still an AoE to use since it is indeed bladed. i can read as well as anyone else so lets try to NOT quote books.


Those posts were both in response to Starbuck II, whips don't threaten. Yeah, bolding makes me feel special :hmm:
 

Sorry for not answering correctly on your point, I'd use the same rules for whip and whip-dagger, the second dealing lethal damage is the only difference.
 

Sorry for not answering correctly on your point, I'd use the same rules for whip and whip-dagger, the second dealing lethal damage is the only difference.

excellent, would you also say that it provokes an AoO if used with reach of a creature? (i know you said the same as the old whip, i just want to double check the specifics)
 

Yes, there is no real logic but it's the same weapon with a dagger at the end, the method used to srike is the same and the enemy can try to take advantage of the bacward move with the arm.
 

Remove ads

Top