I have a situation and Im guessing there is something in the rules that will allow me to consistently adjudicate this.
Here is the scenario:
Wizard is hidden behind a large boulder. Wizard has haste. On Wizards round, he uses haste (partial) to cast dimension door behind a group of Giants 100' away. He arrives behind the Giants, about 50ft away from them. He then takes his normal action and casts Rainbow pattern in the middle of the 2 giants. End round for Wizard.
Next come the Giants. Am I right in having the Giant (the one not in rainbow pattern) immediately turn around and throw a boulder at the Wizard.
In this case, are there official rules or personal ideas on how that whole thing would work with the Giants not knowing the Wizard is there. However, as soon as he casts the spell, I'd assume the Giants "should" or "would" know. Do I make the Giants turn and make a spot check to acquire the target?
Sorry its so long, but it was kind of involved and was not sure how to phrase it so all understand. The situation happened in game and it was weird because the Giants almost killed the Wizard with full round action of turning around and throwing 2 boulders, yet the Wizard felt that they should not have automatically turned and acquired him. Just want to be fair with it and make it logical.
Thank you for any and all input.
Here is the scenario:
Wizard is hidden behind a large boulder. Wizard has haste. On Wizards round, he uses haste (partial) to cast dimension door behind a group of Giants 100' away. He arrives behind the Giants, about 50ft away from them. He then takes his normal action and casts Rainbow pattern in the middle of the 2 giants. End round for Wizard.
Next come the Giants. Am I right in having the Giant (the one not in rainbow pattern) immediately turn around and throw a boulder at the Wizard.
In this case, are there official rules or personal ideas on how that whole thing would work with the Giants not knowing the Wizard is there. However, as soon as he casts the spell, I'd assume the Giants "should" or "would" know. Do I make the Giants turn and make a spot check to acquire the target?
Sorry its so long, but it was kind of involved and was not sure how to phrase it so all understand. The situation happened in game and it was weird because the Giants almost killed the Wizard with full round action of turning around and throwing 2 boulders, yet the Wizard felt that they should not have automatically turned and acquired him. Just want to be fair with it and make it logical.
Thank you for any and all input.