Hasted character casting from scrolls

mmu1

First Post
Ok, here's a question: How many spells can a Hasted wizard cast in a round if he's using scrolls?

Unless you have the scrolls in hand, I'd say you'd be spending a move-equivalent action to pull out a scroll, so even a Hasted caster should be limited to just one, no?

Alternately, can someone remind me if there are specific rules for putting more than one spell on a scroll? That'd make things simpler in that department...
 

log in or register to remove this ad

There is no explicit mention of the maximum capacity of a scroll that I could find, either in the PHB, the DMG or the FAQ. You could have a major scroll with six spells, but I would not consider that a practical limit, just the usual limit. It used to be seven spells in previous editions; I don't know if it carried over into 3E and I was just unable to find it, or if there is simply no limit except the length of the scroll you can find (1 ft. per spell).

-Fletch!
 

mmu1 said:
Ok, here's a question: How many spells can a Hasted wizard cast in a round if he's using scrolls?

Activating a scroll takes the same amount of time as it would to cast the spell itself. If you have a scroll with magic missile and lightning bolt, and its already in hand at the beginning of your action, you can activate both of them, and you can still move. If you have to retrieve the scroll first, that will eat up some time, a move-equivalent action (unless you have a HHH).

mmu1 said:
Unless you have the scrolls in hand, I'd say you'd be spending a move-equivalent action to pull out a scroll, so even a Hasted caster should be limited to just one, no?

If the scroll has 2 spells on it, and they are 1-action spells, you can pull out the scroll (move-equivalent), activate the first spell (standard action), then activate the second spell (haste partial action).

mmu1 said:
Alternately, can someone remind me if there are specific rules for putting more than one spell on a scroll? That'd make things simpler in that department...

Page 199 of the DMG.
 


Re: Re: Hasted character casting from scrolls

kreynolds said:
Activating a scroll takes the same amount of time as it would to cast the spell itself.

From the SRD, Combat Actions

Activate magic item [Standard][AoO: Maybe]
[...]
Activating a spell completion item, is the equivalent of casting a spell. It requires concentration and provokes attacks of opportunity. A combatant loses the spell if the combatant's concentration is broken, and the combatant can attempt to activate the item while on the defensive, as with a spell.

Activating a spell completion item takes only a standard action, regardless of the spell (no quickened scrolls or wands or whatever). The bit about 'equivalent to casting a spell' applies only to the fact that it draws an AoO (unlike other magic items) and can be disrupted like a spell (Concentration check).

Is there a maximum to the number of spells that can be placed on a scroll. I'm picturing a belt-mounted drum containing a rolled up scroll 37 feet long, used like linked machine gun ammo...and hoping I'm wrong!

-Fletch!
 

Re: Re: Re: Hasted character casting from scrolls

mkletch said:
Activating a spell completion item takes only a standard action

Incorrect. From a Sage reply...

What is the activation time of a scroll of summon monster? Page 175 contradicts itself and the section on scrolls never comes right out and says it. From page 175, "the casting time of a spell is the time required to activate the same power in an item, whether it's a scroll, a wand, or a pair of boots". But then later on the same page, "Activating a spell completion item is a standard action."

Even though the former seems right, because otherwise scrolls of summon monster are more powerful than scrolls with other spells of the same level, I thought clarification was needed. Also, wands and staves specifically state that if the spell being cast has a casting time longer than one action, then that's also the activation time for the item, despite the fact that page 175 also says, "Activating a spell trigger item is a standard action."

The activation time for a spell completion or spell trigger item is the casting time for the spell stored (usually 1 action, but not always).

mkletch said:
(no quickened scrolls or wands or whatever).

Incorrect. Page 274 specifically states that you can use metamagic feats to alter the spell, and since a scroll takes the same amount of time to activate as the same spell, a quickened fireball scroll, or a quickened 1st level magic missile wand, would be activated as a free action.

mkletch said:
The bit about 'equivalent to casting a spell' applies only to the fact that it draws an AoO (unlike other magic items) and can be disrupted like a spell (Concentration check).

No. It applies to the fact that it is exactly like casting the spell, aside from not needing material or focus components.

mkletch said:
Is there a maximum to the number of spells that can be placed on a scroll.

Not as stated in the DMG, but some people apply limits of 6 or 7 (which isn't unreasonable).
 
Last edited:

I would feel that quickened wands, scrolls and staves would be unbalancing, regardless of the costs for the higher level spell slot. It is a 'spell completion item' or a 'use activated item', not a 'cast the whole friggin spell from scratch' item.

This falls into the "not a clarification but an official erratum" category that I find very annoying with the FAQ. Some people use the FAQ as gospel, others pick and choose (mostly along the lines of clarifications and things that go too far to be mere clarifications), and others ignore it entirely. Why bother with separate files for errata and clarifications if you cannot trust the intent behind the content of either file?

And a friend had actually convinced me that I might play a conjurer. Not now... :( ... assuming that we use this change, which we probably won't. This type of crap ruling (with no basis in the actual rules, but changing them entirely) really hurts The Sage's credibility AFAIC.

Edit: The SRD reflects all of the original wordings, and the FAQ is not OGL. So that means posterity will remember the original wording, not The Sage's musings. And from what I've seen on these boards, zillions of gamers don't even know the FAQ or errata even exist...

-Fletch!
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top