Healing domain and scrolls of CLW

tobensg

First Post
In a campaign that I am playing, I have a cleric with the healing domain. If I wanted to create a scroll of cure light wounds as a first level caster what would the resulting d8 + x be?

Would it be the standard d8 + 1 for being cast at 1st level
or
would it be d8 + 2 for have the healing domain?

If it is the latter, does this apply to scrolls that I scribe or all healing spells that i cast from scrolls?

If I always cast healing spells at +1 caster level, can i even scribe a d8 + 1 scroll or is it always a d8 + 2 and therefore more expensive for me to scribe?

If my DM allows cooperative efforts to create magic items and i have another cleric cast the CLW:confused:

Opinions always welcome. I know you guys all have em.

-Toben
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I believe the proper answer is: either, at your choice (d8+1 or d8+2) but you have to pay for it as usual (market price 25 gp or 50 gp respectively).
 

A common ruling is to apply healing domain to the effect of casting.

The scroll you make is 1d8+1 but when you cast it you get 1d8+2 out of it. Same if you use a scroll somebody else makes, wands, etc.

Due to the blessings of your deity healing magic is just more effective from you.

I can't remember if that was an official suggestion or just a suggestion from an official person.
 

BeauNiddle said:
A common ruling is to apply healing domain to the effect of casting.

THat doesn't work. The caster level is set at magical item creation. It is not changed by the user of the magic item, even a "spell trigger" item.
 

when a spellcaster creates a scroll (or any magic item), the spellcaster determines the spell caster level.

Lets take a cleric at 1st level. He has the Healing domain and the Scripe Scroll feat. When he makes a scroll of CLW he can either make it as a 1st level caster or 2nd level. If he does it as a 1st level caster, the scroll would heal 1d8+1. At 2nd it would heal 1d8+2. If he made it as a 1st level caster it would cost him 12.5 GP and 1 XP. If he did it as a 2nd level caster it would cost 25 gp and 2 XP to make it.

If your 1st level Cleric buys a scroll of Cure Light Wounds made at caster Level 1 for 25 GP, it would heal 1d8 + 1. If he bought one made at second caster level for 50 gp it would heal 1d8 + 2. Your healing domain does not increase spells casted from magic items, only your prepared or spontanouse casted heal spells.

If another cleric "casts" the Cure Light Wounds for the scroll you make they can cast it up to their caster level. If its a first level caster, that means it'll do 1d8 + 1
 

dcollins said:
I believe the proper answer is: either, at your choice (d8+1 or d8+2) but you have to pay for it as usual (market price 25 gp or 50 gp respectively).
Scroll price is set by caster level, not character level. Therefore, for healing spells, your caster level is one higher. Since you get to chose the caster level during item creation, it could be either 1 or 2. => 25 gp or 50 gp.
 



BeauNiddle said:
A common ruling is to apply healing domain to the effect of casting.

The scroll you make is 1d8+1 but when you cast it you get 1d8+2 out of it. Same if you use a scroll somebody else makes, wands, etc.

Due to the blessings of your deity healing magic is just more effective from you.

I can't remember if that was an official suggestion or just a suggestion from an official person.

This is how it works.

The scroll is at CL 1 but when a Cleric with the Healing Domain cast from the scroll you apply the +1 CL.

The Domain power is "All Heal spells are cast at +1 CL"

Since casting from a scroll is a spell compleation, it is treated the same as casting teh spell normaly there for you get teh +1 CL.
 

melkoriii said:


This is how it works.

The scroll is at CL 1 but when a Cleric with the Healing Domain cast from the scroll you apply the +1 CL.

The Domain power is "All Heal spells are cast at +1 CL"

Since casting from a scroll is a spell compleation, it is treated the same as casting teh spell normaly there for you get teh +1 CL.
But you don't get the benifit of increased ability scores for saving throw DC, nor your own caster level, you use the item's caster level...

I'm inclined to agree that you have the option of making healing scrolls at 1st or 2nd caster level for full cost. Though I think I might allow it just as a bonus (no extra cost) if a player asked, since it's hardly unbalancing.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top