Hellish Rebuke

Corwin

Explorer
The warlock at-will power Hellish Rebuke states that, if you take damage before the end of your next turn, the target takes more damage. To paraphrase.

Now, the flavor text at the top seems to indicate that it only flares up once before burning out. But the power says nothing of this.

So the question: What if you are damaged more than once before the end of your next turn?

Bonus question: If you/can you choose to poke yourself for a point of damage to cause the power to flare up?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Surgoshan

First Post
The actual crunch says "if you take damage" not "each time you take damage".

And I see no reason why you couldn't do damage to yourself to make it work. Doom of Delban does damage to you when you sustain it. So on turn one you curse the mob and use Doom of Delban for 5d10+Con+Yd6* damage (half on miss), on turn two you use hellish rebuke as a standard action, then spend an AP to sustain Delban. You take 2d10 damage and hand over additional damage from Hellish (1,2d6+con) rebuke and, incidentally, do 6d10+Con+Yd6 damage.

Yes, Hellish Rebuke is Infernal and Doom of Delban is Star. So?

* curse damage depends on your tier, of course.
 

samursus

Explorer
Poking yourself?? Nope...its not in the spirit of the rules... its related to the whole bag o' rats scenario. Specifically, states in the DMG pg.40 Legitimate Targets "When a power has an effect that occurs upon hitting a target" "the power functions only when the target in question is a meaningful threat." They are not specifically talking about damaging oneself, but I believe it applies to the spirit of the rules. Hellish Rebuke is there to punish your enemies for hurting you...not an excuse to practice self-mutilation :)
 

WOLead

First Post
samursus said:
Poking yourself?? Nope...its not in the spirit of the rules... its related to the whole bag o' rats scenario. Specifically, states in the DMG pg.40 Legitimate Targets "When a power has an effect that occurs upon hitting a target" "the power functions only when the target in question is a meaningful threat." They are not specifically talking about damaging oneself, but I believe it applies to the spirit of the rules. Hellish Rebuke is there to punish your enemies for hurting you...not an excuse to practice self-mutilation :)

Mah, but what happens if an Infernal Warlock Multiclasses into Wizard and takes the Blood Mage Paragon Path? Hit the target on one turn with Hellish Rebuke, then on the following turn use a Wizard/Blood Mage Encounter/Daily Power with Bolstering Blood. You take 1d10 or 2d10 damage from Bolstering Blood so you can add that much onto the Wizard/Blood Mage Power as damage, but it should also trigger Hellish Rebuke if you weren't damaged before then. Would that be in the spirit of the rules, though?

There's an excuse to practice self-mutilation =P Just kidding.
 
Last edited:

Level Up!

An Advertisement

Advertisement4

Top