D&D 5E Help balancing a spell

BlivetWidget

Explorer
I don't want to take up too much of your time here, so let me just enter with a preface: I know that I cannot trust myself to balance a custom spell. As an engineer, I'm too optimization-minded. So if you've got a moment to help me out, it would be much appreciated.

I'm going for a lower-level Simulacrum-type spell. I'd like it to be in the spell level 4 or 5 categories and with no large recurring cost (a one-time cost is okay). Here is what I currently have in mind

Simple Simulacrum:
5th-level transmutation
Casting Time: 1 action
Range: touch
Components: V, S, M (a ball of clay infused with 500 gp of powdered ruby)
Duration: until dispelled
Class: wizard
You touch the ground at a point within reach. As you raise your hand, an illusory duplicate of yourself rises up from the ground. The duplicate is a creature, partially real and formed from the ground, and it can take actions and otherwise be affected as a normal creature. It appears to be the same as you, but it has half your hit point maximum, cannot use spell slots, and is formed without any equipment. Otherwise, the illusion uses all your statistics, except that it is a construct.

The simulacrum is friendly to you and creatures you designate. It obeys your spoken commands, moving and acting in accordance with your wishes and acting on your turn in combat. The simulacrum lacks the ability to learn or become more powerful, so it never increases its level or other abilities.

If the simulacrum is damaged, you can repair it by casting this spell on it again. The simulacrum lasts until it drops to 0 hit points, at which point it reverts to dust.

At higher levels: The spell slot required to create further simple simulacra is 5 plus the number of existing simulacra. So if you currently have one simple simulacrum, a 6th level slot is required to create a second. If you have two, a 7th level slot is required to create a third. Etc.

As I see it...