Heward's Haversack, Scroll Organizer, and retrieving an item

JoeBlank

Explorer
Heward’s Handy Haversack: When the wearer reaches into it for a specific item, that item is always on top. Thus, no digging around and fumbling is ever necessary to find what a haversack contains. Retrieving any specific item from a haversack is a move-equivalent action.

Scroll Organizer: (from FRCS) overlapping series of 15 pockets, each holds single scroll, only tops of scrolls show "allowing you to scan the scrolls' titles."

So if it takes only a MEA to retrieve an item from Heward's, it must take longer than that without Heward's. The scroll organizer must have some advantage, otherwise why pay 5 gp for it? Still, could it be as good as a HHH for scrolls, despite being non-magical? At only 5 gp, one could buy a scroll organizer just for non-game effect, something nifty for the guy who uses a lot of scrolls.

Of course, drawing a weapon is a MEA, which can be combined with a regular move if you have a BAB of at least +1, but weapons are kept in such a way to be drawn quickly. So . . .

Questions:

1. How long does it take to retrieve a generic "item" without HHH or a scroll organizer?

2. Same amount of time for a scroll, in a scroll case? If not, how long?

3. How long to retrieve a scroll from a scroll organizer? (Could find no answer in FRCS or in errata for same.)


Thanks for any help you can offer.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Actually, HHH has been erratted to a free action.

Thus the scroll organiser is a move-equivalent, or a free if you're a generous DM and equate it with a masterwork potion belt.
 

Thanks for the quick response, dvvega. I checked the errata for FRCS, and even for Tomb & Blood, as the scroll organizer appears there too, but did not check errata on the DMG.

Still interested if others use free or MEA for the scroll organizer. Masterwork potion belt analogy makes sense, good argument for free action.
 

Actually in my campaign is a "special" MEA ... basically it's like drawing a weapon ... you can do it with a move action ... so a caster can pull one out while moving then use a standard action to cast the scroll.

I don't find much of a "big deal" about it since scroll reading doesn't draw an AOO. What you're really doing is saying "no you cannot move" or "yes you can move".
 

dvvega said:
Actually in my campaign is a "special" MEA ... basically it's like drawing a weapon ... you can do it with a move action

That's how we do it as well.

But...

scroll reading doesn't draw an AOO.

Yes it does. Spell completion activation items incur AoOs.
 

Actually, the point of having a scroll organizer is for the industrious wizard/sorcerer to be able to hold 15 scrolls at once, rather than:

Pull scroll
Cast
Pull scroll
Cast
...etc
 

Remove ads

Top