Hold The Line + Reach = Two AoOs?

Zaruthustran

The tingling means it’s working!
Just wondering: if you have a Reach weapon and Hold the Line (and it's prerequisite Combat Reflexes) and are charged by an orc, do you get two Attacks of Opportunity on that orc--one for Reach and one for HtL?

If not, which is negated? Your Reach or your feat?

-z
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Is that one AoO ever, or one of a given type?

As in, if a guy runs through my threatened square (AoO provocation) and then casts a spell right next to me (AoO provocation) and then, thanks to the Haste he just cast, tries to grapple me (AoO provocation) I only get to take one AoO attack?

Or does that 1 AoO per opponent mean that if he runs through four of my threatened squares, I only get to take one "movement through threatened square" AoO?

-z
 

Yeah, what he said. :)

Also, you can choose which AoO to take, but once you take one against the orc, you can't take any more until your next turn, no matter how many AoOs he provokes, or whether or not you have Combat Reflexes...

[edit] Too slow in my old age...anyway, in that instance, you'd have to pick which AoO to respond to at the time it's triggered, and no matter if it's successful or not, it's the only one you can take against that particular foe that round. With your hasted caster, if you chose to attack on his move, and missed due to his Mobility feat, he'd be free and clear to cast and grapple without worry, unless he was within someone else's threat range. However, you could pass up on the movement AoO and react to the casting instead, or even wait until the grapple...
 
Last edited:

Zaruthustran said:
Is that one AoO ever, or one of a given type?

Ever. In your threatened area, I can move more than 5 feet, drink a potion, retrieved a stored item, activate a wand, activate a scroll, shoot a bow, reload a crossbow, draw my weapons, and even if I do all this in one round, you only get to swing at me once.
 

kreynolds said:


Ever. In your threatened area, I can move more than 5 feet, drink a potion, retrieved a stored item, activate a wand, activate a scroll, shoot a bow, reload a crossbow, draw my weapons, and even if I do all this in one round, you only get to swing at me once.

If you can do all of that in one round, then the guy has more problems than getting one AOO on you:D
 

Kreynolds has it right. One AoO per person, no matter how many things you do. Against a dragon, this doesn't make much difference since most of them only have DEX 10 and no Combat Reflexes.

However, I added a homemade Feat to help with this:
Improved Combat Reflexes (which of course requires Combat Reflexes and a BAB of 6 or higher)
It lets you take iterative AoOs against a single target at your BAB progression. That is, if your attacks are +12/+7/+2, normally you get all your AoOs at +12. But, using this Feat, if the person does a second AoO-causing action you can attack them at a +7 to hit, and if they do a third +2 to hit. Each of these counts against Combat Reflexes' max number of AoOs.
It's even more fun for Monks thanks to their improved unarmed progression.
 

kreynolds said:


Ever. In your threatened area, I can move more than 5 feet, drink a potion, retrieved a stored item, activate a wand, activate a scroll, shoot a bow, reload a crossbow, draw my weapons, and even if I do all this in one round, you only get to swing at me once.

Got it. Thanks for the replies.

-z, adding yet another item to his "rules to revise" list...
 

kreynolds said:


Ever. In your threatened area, I can move more than 5 feet, drink a potion, retrieved a stored item, activate a wand, activate a scroll, shoot a bow, reload a crossbow, draw my weapons, and even if I do all this in one round, you only get to swing at me once.
But drawing weapons and activating a wand doesn't provoke an AoO... ;)

Well, maybe if you drew them with a pencil. Then the DM could say that you were "momentarily distracted" by your artwork; but that would be a house rule.
 

Rule = 1 AOO per round for each foe

The Rule is 1 AOO per round for each foe. Assuming you have access to more than 1 AOO per round from the Combat Reflexes feat.

A reasonable house rule would allow you access to more than 1 AOO against a foe that does more than one thing to generate an AOO, but that would be a house rule, not a core rule.

The reason they came up with the 1 AOO per foe per round limit is to avoid infinite AOOs.

i.e.
Hero A is adjacent to Foe B. Both are holding longswords.

A attempts to drink a potion. Generates an AOO.
B uses his AOO to sunder A's potion. Generates an AOO.
A uses his AOO to disarm B's weapon. Generates an AOO.
B uses his AOO to grapple A. Generates an AOO.
And so on and so forth.

Tom
 

Remove ads

Top