Holding a touch spell... indefinitly.

the Jester said:
You also have to be careful not to scratch your nose, etc. I exempt the floor from "anything."

Surely it's not as critical as scratching your nose matey, I mean, my nose is part of me... as is the hand holding the charge, yes? I mean, if we're going to be pedantic about things I guess you could say if I touch my robes it discharges, my boots, a scroll etc etc... but I don't know if any DM need be that strict on the matter.

I only asked point 1 because a friend mentioned the possibility, my initial thought was just to cast it onto my hand at the start of a combat (before the enemy reached me, for example) to save on casting it later on. That's why I looked up the rule originally, because I thought it was 10 rounds.

Sidenote: Was it EVER ten rounds you could hold a touch spell for or was that my imagination?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Scratched_back said:
Surely it's not as critical as scratching your nose matey, I mean, my nose is part of me... as is the hand holding the charge, yes? I mean, if we're going to be pedantic about things I guess you could say if I touch my robes it discharges, my boots, a scroll etc etc... but I don't know if any DM need be that strict on the matter.

Well, I am. :)
 

Well, one touch range spell that you could cast in the morning and keep all day (assuming you don't dissipate it by touching something that would do so) is Chill Touch. Very handy VS Undead. IMO quite broken, but hey I still take advantage hehehe.
 

Lasher Dragon said:
Why would you need two hands to draw a single-handed sword?

Depends on the scabbard. Some start to bind against the sword after they are drawn a bit due to the twisting of the hand doing the drawing. In that case, the other hand is needed for a guide to keep the angles right.

MoonZar said:
BTW what is the duration of vampiric touch ? The spell should dispel after the duration expire.

To acquire the charge, the duration is instant. The temporary hit points gained after its discharged have a 1 hour duration.
 

This topic reminds me of a related question... Is Chill Touch the only touch spell that you can make multiple attacks with, or is it all of them? I've never quite understood the mechanic as described in the PHB, or if it applies to all tocuh spells, such as Vampiric Touch.


--Z
 

Zephrin the Lost said:
This topic reminds me of a related question... Is Chill Touch the only touch spell that you can make multiple attacks with, or is it all of them? I've never quite understood the mechanic as described in the PHB, or if it applies to all tocuh spells, such as Vampiric Touch.

The spell would have to specify it in the description. Vampire Touch does not, so no multiple touches with it. There are others, however. There is one in either Libris Mortis or CA, can't remember, that basically lets you touch for a negative level, once per 2 caster levels or something like that. It may even be once per caster level, I can't remember.
 

Scratched_back said:
Surely it's not as critical as scratching your nose matey, I mean, my nose is part of me... as is the hand holding the charge, yes? I mean, if we're going to be pedantic about things I guess you could say if I touch my robes it discharges, my boots, a scroll etc etc... but I don't know if any DM need be that strict on the matter.

I would, and so would a lot of DMs, from what I've seen on previous threads on ENWorld. the Jester, above, for example.
 

Any other creature or object is usually a viable target for the touch spell, so it would go off if touched. It's just not viable to hold a charge all day long, your bound to waste it on some accidental discharge. Or even worse, just before a battle, premature discharge. Nothing says "impotent mage" like a noob mistake like that! Just say NO to charge holding! :p
 


Scratched_back said:
1) Could I theoretically 'charge my hand' at the start of the day and utilise the stored spell when a fight comes along, saving myself one round's casting?
Yes

2) If I had the spell charged on my hand, now that I have two attacks per round, could I use my first attack to swing with my greatsword and my second to touch the opponent and unleash the spell?
No, because to swing your sword you have to touch it, discharging the spell.

However, you could first make a melee touch attack to deliver the spell, and with your second attack deliver it again (in case you failed the previous attack, or the spell allows multiple discharges) or make an attack with you sword.

Note that when delivering a touch spell that you are holding you have two options
-making a melee touch attack (ignores armor)
-making an unarmed strike, which provokes AoO, but delivers the spell in addition to the unarmed strike damage (great for monks)
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top