Holding a touch spell... indefinitly.

Amal Shukup said:
Neither my copy of the PHB (Pg 176) OR my version of the SRD (latest Sovelier/Sage) seems to have this line in the relevant section(s). Could you direct me to where it is?

Because WITHOUT that piece of black letter, my citation stands. With it... Well, that's different. But I don't see it in here...

Here.

Touch Spells in Combat: Many spells have a range of touch. To use these spells, you cast the spell and then touch the subject, either in the same round or any time later. In the same round that you cast the spell, you may also touch (or attempt to touch) the target. You may take your move before casting the spell, after touching the target, or between casting the spell and touching the target. You can automatically touch one friend or use the spell on yourself, but to touch an opponent, you must succeed on an attack roll.

Touch Attacks: Touching an opponent with a touch spell is considered to be an armed attack and therefore does not provoke attacks of opportunity. However, the act of casting a spell does provoke an attack of opportunity. Touch attacks come in two types: melee touch attacks and ranged touch attacks. You can score critical hits with either type of attack. Your opponent’s AC against a touch attack does not include any armor bonus, shield bonus, or natural armor bonus. His size modifier, Dexterity modifier, and deflection bonus (if any) all apply normally.

Holding the Charge: If you don’t discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the discharge of the spell (hold the charge) indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren’t considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. (If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack.) If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.

Dismiss a Spell: Dismissing an active spell is a standard action that doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity.


I suspect you're looking under 'Magic Overview' instead of 'Actions in Combat'.

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hypersmurf said:
I suspect you're looking under 'Magic Overview' instead of 'Actions in Combat'.
-Hyp.

Yup. Silly me, looking for rules about Magic in the section on Magic...

AND the two sections flatly contradict each other in a couple of ways. Irksome.

Right. All my arguments are null and void.

A'Mal
 

Amal Shukup said:
AND the two sections flatly contradict each other in a couple of ways. Irksome.

The six friends / as many willing targets as you can reach thing?

And the holding the charge / must touch targets in the same round you finish casting the spell thing?

-Hyp.
 

Ohhhhhhhhhhkay, so I've seen arguements too and fro, I've seen flat refusals and I've seen acceptances with stipulations, i.e. TWF rules... seems to be a little scattered to say the least.

Is this one of those "It boils down to your DM." situations?
 

Scratched_back said:
Is this one of those "It boils down to your DM." situations?

I think it boils down to what do you already have in hand. If you have Still Spell or can find a touch spell without a somatic component, you probably could do what you are proposing with a two-handed weapon. The charge would be in hold mode until you freed up a hand. But how long can you keep both hands on a weapon while maneuvering through the day. How long can you go without needing to scratch yourself or reach a tool out of a pack or pouch? Remember for most touch spells, the caster is considered a legitimate target whether the spell is benficial on not. The spell doesn't care.

Theoretically the charge could be held indefinitely, but practical matters have to be considered as well.
 

Scratched_back said:
On the 2nd point, why not? I always thought it was possible... :\

Because to attack with your greatsword you'd have to touch it, and the spell would disapate.

EDIT: How did I fail to notice the 30 posts after the one I replied to? :D


glass.
 
Last edited:

Amal Shukup said:
How is an Object (sword hilt) touched by the caster a better place to draw the line than ANOTHER Object (a Ring, say) touched by the caster?

As I see it, you draw the line between active and passive. In other words, you are touching the ring, you do touch the sword (or oponent).

So if you are wearing a ring, you can continue to wear it without spoiling a spell on hand. If you pick up a ring that you see on a table: bye bye touch spell.

Arbitrary (especially if adjudicated out of thin air) does not a good ruling make.

Just because you can't see a distinction doesn't mean their isn't one.


glass.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top