Horse & Rider

LGodamus said:
you shudder when you think that his opponents will back up and use missle fire on his mount?

No. I would simply ride forward and nullify their ranged weapons by placing them within my Threat Zone. I have Combat Reflexes, remember? A 30' x 30' area is nothing to sneeze at.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Where is the rules citing for the rider being in all of the mount's spaces? I like it, but my DM will shudder. I'd like something to show him immediately after he gags.

So, A medium character riding a large mount will threaten with a large lance the same way a large character threatens with a large lance, right?
 


Ranger REG said:
A rider shares the same fighting space as their mount, but it does not become a larger creature. So their reach is still at 10 feet.
Just 10 feet from the edge of the horses fighting space.
ie
Code:
XXXXXX
XXXXXX
XXOOXX
XXOOXX
XXXXXX
XXXXXX
 
Last edited:

Felix said:
Where is the rules citing for the rider being in all of the mount's spaces? I like it, but my DM will shudder. I'd like something to show him immediately after he gags.

So, A medium character riding a large mount will threaten with a large lance the same way a large character threatens with a large lance, right?

Not quite. A large character would presumably be large & tall and therefore have intrinsic bonus reach that is additive with the lance.
 

Ridley's Cohort said:
Yes. Consistency would demand it. You must gain both the benefit and detriment of a 10' reach weapon. Therefore you can attack 10' from the horse's space but not within 5'.

Unless they are wielding a spiked chain on horseback that is.
 

AeroDm said:
I laugh because its funny. I cry because it works.

Not really, there are limits to how many free actions you can take in a round. It is up to the DM to determine this limit and in this case I would imagine one per round is fair.
 

Saeviomagy said:
Just 10 feet from the edge of the horses fighting space.
ie
Code:
XXXXXX
XXXXXX
XXOOXX
XXOOXX
XXXXXX
XXXXXX
Actually, it's the Xs on the outside that the lance or any reach weapon threatens while mounted...
Code:
XXXXXX
X----X
X-OO-X
X-OO-X
X----X
XXXXXX
Any closer, then he'll resort to his regular melee weapon...
Code:
------
-XXXX-
-XOOX-
-XOOX-
-XXXX-
------
Correct me if I'm wrong.
 
Last edited:


Felix said:
I totally understand and agree RangerREG, but where is that rule printed? What's the citation?

p. 157 under Mounted Combat, Horses in Combat, last sentence in this section: "For simplicity, assume that you share your mount's space during combat."

Most reach weapons cannot be used within 5ft, except the almight spiked chain of course. :D
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top