dreaded_beast
First Post
While reading a prior thread, many posters wrote about how Expert Tactician and Combat Reflexes resulted in gaining an extra attack?
How does this work?
How does this work?
dreaded_beast said:While reading a prior thread, many posters wrote about how Expert Tactician and Combat Reflexes resulted in gaining an extra attack?
How does this work?
Elder-Basilisk said:And if you have Blink or Greater Invis active, opponents are always (unless they have blindfight or uncanny dodge) denied their dex against you so you get the extra attack every round.
dreaded_beast said:Nice...
Now, imagine if this char had sneak attack.
Ouch.
dreaded_beast said:hmm...
this got me thinking....
if you made a character that had spring attack and the ability to cast the blink spell, would it be foolish NOT to take expert tactician and have a few levels in a class that offered sneak attack damage?
i say spring attack, because if you can cast blink, you have to be at least 5th level wizard or 6th sorcerer, which means you have some pretty low hit points. if for whatever reason you say yourself in melee alot, you probably would want to be the one hit wonder: get in, take a crack, and then get out.
taking that above example, if you played your character like that, why wouldn't you take expert tactician and a couple of levels of rogue for sneak attack?
Felix said:Although less effective, I think the rogue who Improved Feints to deny them their Dex, then hits them twice is more stylish.
Although would they get their SA dice on both hits? The Expert Tactician extra attack goes off as soon as someone in melee range is denied their Dex to AC, and that attack can happen before or after their normal actions...
But Feinting in Combat only denies them Dex to AC on the next attack.
Consider:
--Rogue successfully feints as a MEA to deny their opponent their Dex to AC.
---- Expert Tactician provides an extra attack against that opponent.
--Rogue takes his Standard Action to attack the opponent and applies SA dice to the hit.
--The opponent is no longer denied his Dex to his AC.
Does this mean the Rogue can no longer take his Expert Tactician attack?
Or if this happens:
--Rogue successfully feints as a MEA to deny their opponent their Dex to AC.
---- Expert Tactician provides an extra attack against that opponent.
--Rogue takes his extra ET attack against his opponent and applies SA dice.
--Rogue takes his Standard Action to attack.
Maybe it's just me, but I think a character dedicated to feinting and taking advantage of those feints should get SA dice twice. That, and I think it's a cool fencing tactic. Is there any way to do this without resorting to magic?
The S&S text of ET does not specify that the feat may only be used once per round.Elder-Basilisk said:The 3.0 FAQ disagrees with this interpretation and has a bizarre passage that seems to be following the Sword and Fist text of ET rather than the Song and Silence one since it directly contradicts the text of the S&S ET by allowing it to function more than once/round. IMO, that FAQ is best ignored.
So, the key points of contention: The feat may only be used once per round....this is never specified. It DOES specify that you can make one extra melee attack opponent who is denied dexterity bonus, and you can only use this feat against one opponent, but it is not specified that it can be fired only once per round, merely that you may only attack one opponent, regardless of how many opponents are dex-deprived by any single event that triggers denial-of-dexterity. If you are invisible and walk into a crowd, a single event which triggers denial-of-dexterity, you receive only one attack, not multiple attacks against all opponents.S&S ET Description said:Benefit: You can make one extra melee attack against one foe who is within melee reach and denied a Dexterity bonus against your melee attacks for any reason. You take your extra attack when it's your turn, either before or after your regular action. If several foes are within melee reach and denied Dexterity bonuses against your attacks, you can use this feat against only one of them.