How Does One Publish for 3.5 after 4.0's Release?

dmccoy1693

Adventurer
In this thread on RPG.net , Chris Helton of Seraphim Guard made the following statement:

Under the OGL you cannot claim compatibility with a product without the permission of the product's IP owner. That's why WotC has/had the whole d20 logo thing, to give that permission that was needed under the OGL. With WotC pulling the d20 logo ... how exactly is a publisher going to market [their products are d20 compatable] without being able to claim compatibility?
Emphasis Mine.

So I am asking the publishers that are planning on releasing 3.5 products post-4E-launch, how does one continue to publish for 3.5? How does a publisher dual-stat their product and let their customers know that it works with both versions?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The short answer is very carefully.

I think what you would have to do would be to cite a specific version of the SRD, perhaps one found on a website, such as that found here or perhaps one of the hyperlinked compilations offered for sale at RPGNow.

Chuck
 

I suspect they'll do it in a similar way to the way it has always been done.

Many publishers advertise "OGL" as "D20 compatible," (not in those exact words) even download sites like RPGnow equate the two in their category structure, so the "D20" itself hasn't come to mean too much anyway.

So I suppose they'll say something like "OGL/3.5" or just "3.5," assuming that number is not part of any trademark, and I doubt it is.
 

My understanding is that, you won't be able to use the d20 logo, but you can still publish 3.5 material directly under the OGL. Given that, you should still be able to say something to the effect of "for 3.5-edition rules" or something similar without any particular penalties, since you're not saying what game it's an edition of.
 

Same way companies did this for 2nd Ed / AD&D... there are legal ways to do it, but you have to make sure to follow the rules to the letter so you don't open yourself up to being in an actionable position. :)
 

Bacris said:
Same way companies did this for 2nd Ed / AD&D... there are legal ways to do it, but you have to make sure to follow the rules to the letter so you don't open yourself up to being in an actionable position. :)

Exactly. Heck, our old 2E Kalamar products used this text or something similar:

"This adventure is suitable for use with any role-playing system, including, but not limited to, Advanced Dungeons & Dragons(c)*.

*Advanced Dungeons & Dragons is a registered trademark of TSR Hobbies, Inc. Use of this trademark is NOT sanctioned by the holder."

Of course, you have to be careful on the internal text as well to make sure you're not using any of their copyrighted names or creatures (like beholders) or such.
 

Remove ads

Top