How to apply damage?

MerakSpielman said:
Of course, diminutive creatures do not threaten an area... so they can't get flanking. Sneak attack won't come up as often as it will with more regular-sized people.
See, now that's why I hang out here. To be reminded of stuff like that, and let go of those Lilliputian nightmares I've been having.....

"They can't threaten my space. They're size diminutive!"
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Nail said:
See, now that's why I hang out here. To be reminded of stuff like that, and let go of those Lilliputian nightmares I've been having.....

"They can't threaten my space. They're size diminutive!"

Does that mean you can never flank a Gargantuan sized creature?
 

MerakSpielman said:
Of course, diminutive creatures do not threaten an area... so they can't get flanking. Sneak attack won't come up as often as it will with more regular-sized people.
That brings up a question I have been trying to find a definitive answer to. How does a reach weapon work for a creature with a natural reach of 0 feet?
 
Last edited:

dulsin said:
Does that mean you can never flank a Gargantuan sized creature?

Or course not. It's even simpler to flank a big opponent.

The distinction lies in the fact that the base combat unit is a 5' square, and that diminutive creatures do not occupy a big enough space in said combat unit.

That made absolutely no sense. Why can't diminutive creatures flank us while we can flank gargantuan creatures?

AR
 

He was thinking of the difference in size between M and D sized creatures. It's the same difference as between G and M sized creatures.

I.e., if you were to be increased to Gargantuan size, Medium size creatures would seem diminutive.
 

Camarath said:
That brings up a question I have been trying to find a definitive answer to. How does a reach weapon work for a creature with a natural reach of 0 feet?

According to Savage Species, a tiny reach weapon would grant a character a reach of 5 ft (as opposed to the 0 ft a tiny creature would normally have).

YMMV, as this was written for 3.0.
 

Altamont Ravenard said:
Or course not. It's even simpler to flank a big opponent.

The distinction lies in the fact that the base combat unit is a 5' square, and that diminutive creatures do not occupy a big enough space in said combat unit.

That made absolutely no sense. Why can't diminutive creatures flank us while we can flank gargantuan creatures?

AR


Actualy I was thinking of how Fairies would attack .... Let me tell you .. if 12 fairies decided to teach you a lesson you would learn the true meaning of being flanked!

If a Medium sized creature can threaten and Gagantuan creature then a Dimminutive creature can threaten a medium sized creature. I would just assume that all the D sized creatures were occupying the same hex for reach purposes. Of course you get an AoO when they come for you ... better get combat reflexes.
 
Last edited:

Deset Gled said:
YMMV, as this was written for 3.0.
They changed the way reach works in 3.5 (doubles the wielder’s natural reach) and so I was wondering if I had missed a rule that explained how the reach weapons work for creatures with no natural reach in 3.5.
 

Altamont Ravenard said:
...That made absolutely no sense. Why can't diminutive creatures flank us while we can flank gargantuan creatures?
OT, but....good question. Philosphically speaking, of course.

Practically speaking? 'Cause it's da rules.
 

Remove ads

Top