I am too powerful for my own good...

TuDogz

First Post
I am too powerful for my own good. I am a wizard and I have reached 10th level, now all my fireballs are 10d6. All level based durations must be based at caster level ten. Everything must be at 100%. I just don't know how to take the pepper out of my pitch.

At least that is the ruling my DM made Sunday.

Is that accurate? Can't I cast spells at any caster level below my maximum? What if I wanted to be a spy?

"Hah! You're no apprentice. Your flaming sphere burns far too long. Die fool!"

I know I can create items below my caster level. What's the difference?

What is the correct answer?

I have lunch riding on this. Do I pay or feast?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I don't have a specific reference in teh rules for you, but: I believe you are SUPPOSED to eb able to lower your caster level below your actual level, to a minimumof that needed to cast the spell. IOW, when casting Fireball, at the moment of casting you decide, "five dice, ten dice, or somewhere between".

Since you can do this for a scroll or other magic item, I see NO reason you can't do it when you actually cast the spell.
 


If your DM is making this ruling, it's a House Rule; the PHB doesn't support it in any way.

D&D 3.0 PHB, p.152, "Caster Level," 2nd paragraph:
... You can cast a spell at a lower caster level than normal, but the caster level must be high enough for you to cast the spell in question, and all level-dependent features must be based on the same caster level.

PS - If you're playing D&D 3.5, the rule is identical but it's on p.171 of the PHB. :)
 


SRD 3.5 (and 3.0)

CASTER LEVEL
A spell’s power often depends on its caster level, which for most spellcasting characters is equal to your class level in the class you’re using to cast the spell.

You can cast a spell at a lower caster level than normal, but the caster level you choose must be high enough for you to cast the spell in question, and all level-dependent features must be based on the same caster level.

In the event that a class feature, domain granted power, or other special ability provides an adjustment to your caster level, that adjustment applies not only to effects based on caster level (such as range, duration, and damage dealt) but also to your caster level check to overcome your target’s spell resistance and to the caster level used in dispel checks (both the dispel check and the DC of the check).

There. Stick it to him.

Andargor
 



Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top