I'm blind! Can't find a reference

andargor said:
In 3.0, that was arguably the case, as Monte discussed. However, in 3.5...

Actually, that's the exact same language as in 3.0 (which is why it was ridiculously confusing for anyone to argue that caster level wasn't a requirement).

What did officially change was recent 3.5 DMG errata which says that what you quoted doesn't say what you think it says ("these are not the droids you're looking for"). I still argue that that's nonsensical for a couple reasons: www.superdan.net/dndfaq2.html
 

log in or register to remove this ad

So far, every single book with rules on Magic Item creation has first stated that the Caster Level entry IS a prerequisite, and then it was Errata'd that it was NOT a prerequisite. Thus, if the Eberron Campaign Setting book says it's a prerequisite, it's just waiting to be Errata'd like all the other books. So screw it.
 


UltimaGabe said:
So far, every single book with rules on Magic Item creation has first stated that the Caster Level entry IS a prerequisite, and then it was Errata'd that it was NOT a prerequisite...

I'll just split the hair and point out that 3.0 never had errata to that effect (3.5 DMG errata is first actual errata I know of). But the end result is still basically as you say.
 

Remove ads

Top