Immediate Spells

brehobit said:
When do immediate actions refresh?

You can do exactly one swift or (exclusive or) immediate action per round.
They 'refresh' immediately after your turn is over.

Bye
Thanee
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Thanee said:
You can do exactly one swift or (exclusive or) immediate action per round.
They 'refresh' immediately after your turn is over.
Any rules quotes to back that up?

Immediate Actions
Much like a swift action, an immediate action consumes a very small amount of time, but represents a larger expenditure of effort and energy than a free action. However, unlike a swift action, an immediate action can be performed at any time — even if it's not your turn. Casting feather fall is an immediate action, since the spell can be cast at any time.

Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action, and counts as your swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn). You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.
 
Last edited:

Thanks,
I missed the second part of the immediate action stuff in the link I provided. Silly. The flat-footed thing is even there.

FranktheDM,
My reading of what you posted agrees with what Thanee said. It's pretty clear that once your turn is over you can take another immediate action. This is really handy as it means you can "borrow" an immediate action from from next round. So in round 1 I can do a swift action and then, immediately after my turn is over, do an immediate action.

"You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn"

Sounds pretty clear that it refreshes _after_ your turn.
 



Although, to be fair, that 'one such action per round' part is a little misleading, since the rounds I am speaking of there are not the same as the game rounds, obviously these rounds last from the end of your turn in one game round to the end of your turn in the next game round.

Bye
Thanee
 

Domain Spontaneity + Immediate Spell

My player has a cleric with the Domain Spontaneity feat for the Destiny domain. He just reached 11th level and wanted to know if he could spontaneously cast warp destiny, a spell with a casting time of one immediate action. It didn't seem unreasonable, as presumably sorcerers (another spontaneous caster) are not prevented from casting feather fall, which essentially has immediate action as a casting time.

He was concerned about the inability of spontaneous spells to be Quickened as the metamagic feat, but I didn't think that applied in this situation. Thoughts (preferably backed by rules)? : D

Thanks,
-g
 

godfear said:
My player has a cleric with the Domain Spontaneity feat for the Destiny domain. He just reached 11th level and wanted to know if he could spontaneously cast warp destiny, a spell with a casting time of one immediate action.

The reason spells cast spontaneously can't be Quickened is because Quickening them involves applying a metamagic feat at casting time, which increases casting time to a full round action.

A spell which has an immediate action casting time is not having a metamagic feat applied to it, so you can cast it spontaneously with no issues.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
The reason spells cast spontaneously can't be Quickened is because Quickening them involves applying a metamagic feat at casting time, which increases casting time to a full round action.

A spell which has an immediate action casting time is not having a metamagic feat applied to it, so you can cast it spontaneously with no issues.

-Hyp.

Wouldn't that mean that a cleric with the ability to cast Close Wounds (SC), would be able to convert it spontaneously to an immediate 2d8+level healing, instead of 1d4+level?
 

Jack99 said:
Wouldn't that mean that a cleric with the ability to cast Close Wounds (SC), would be able to convert it spontaneously to an immediate 2d8+level healing, instead of 1d4+level?

Why? You'd be replacing it with a Cure Moderate Wounds, which isn't an immediate casting time.
 

Remove ads

Top