Incantatrix, Metamagic Spell Trigger and Heighten Spell

Thanee

First Post
Let's say, an Incantatrix uses the Metamagic Spell Trigger abilitity to heighten a spell cast from a wand, for example, Charm Person (1st caster level wand).

The spell level is heightened to 9th (costs 9 charges total).

Is the save DC now based on an attribute of 11 or 19 ?

Bye
Thanee
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Based on the discription of Heighten Spell, I'd say 19, but I don't have the discription of the Metamagic Spell Trigger handy.
 

The ability doesn't say anything about that issue.

It just states, that the incantatrix can apply a metamagic feat to the effect of a spell trigger item (generally a wand) by expending a number of additional charges equal to the effective increase in spell level the metamagic would add to the spell normally.

For example, a spell from a wand can be quickened for 1+4=5 charges or empowered for 1+2=3 charges, or be activated silent for 1+1=2 charges.

Bye
Thanee
 

Thanee said:
Let's say, an Incantatrix uses the Metamagic Spell Trigger abilitity to heighten a spell cast from a wand, for example, Charm Person (1st caster level wand).

The spell level is heightened to 9th (costs 10 charges total).

Is the save DC now based on an attribute of 11 or 19 ?

Bye
Thanee

I would say based on an ability score of 19:

srd35 said:
For a saving throw against a spell or spell-like effect from a magic item, the DC is 10 + the level of the spell or effect + the ability modifier of the minimum ability score needed to cast that level of spell.

A spell heightened to 9th level can only be cast by a caster with 19 in her spellcasting stat. Thus, it applies to the wand as well.

Andargor
 

Thanee said:
Let's say, an Incantatrix uses the Metamagic Spell Trigger abilitity to heighten a spell cast from a wand, for example, Charm Person (1st caster level wand).

The spell level is heightened to 9th (costs 9 charges total).

Is the save DC now based on an attribute of 11 or 19 ?

Bye
Thanee

Do you know what I think? That the designers of MST didn't think about it ;)

If I understand your question correctly, you are asking whether using MST (with any metamagic feat) also gives you a DC increase because of the minimum ability score to cast a spell of that (modified) slot level.

But... you don't need to have Int/Wis/Cha 19 to cast a 1st level spell Heightened to 9th! You need Cha 19 to cast a 9th level spell. In fact, if a caster doesn't have Cha 19 but has 9th-lv slots to use, he can still use those slots to cast metamagicked lower-level spells.

That quoted rules about wands DC is true, but it is meant only for crafting wands IMO (ok, I am not aware if and how you can make an entire wand metamagicked...).

Perhaps I am wrong, but you are asking if for example using MST to cast a Quickened Charm Person from a wand would raise the DC from 11 to 15. I don't want to sound like pedantic but I'd say no. I think we should make it work just like metamagicking a spell in your daily slots.

In the case of Heighten to 9th level, you ARE using heighten to get a +8 on the DC because of the increased level. If you rule that it also increases because of the higher ability score, you get another +4 on top, for a total +12. That would be good of course ;) but I think it's not meant this way.

All of this if I understand correctly what you are trying to ask... :p
 


Li Shenron said:
If I understand your question correctly, you are asking whether using MST (with any metamagic feat) also gives you a DC increase because of the minimum ability score to cast a spell of that (modified) slot level.
No, only with Heighten Spell, with any other metamagic feat, it surely wouldn't be necessary, as they do not modify the spell level.

But... you don't need to have Int/Wis/Cha 19 to cast a 1st level spell Heightened to 9th! You need Cha 19 to cast a 9th level spell. In fact, if a caster doesn't have Cha 19 but has 9th-lv slots to use, he can still use those slots to cast metamagicked lower-level spells.
This is true for any metamagic feat, except Heighten Spell.

Bye
Thanee
 

Another question would be, does the caster level increase to 17 (or 18 for sorcerers?) accordingly?

Bye
Thanee

P.S. @oscar: Do you mean DC19 (attribute 11, or no change), or attribute 19?
 

Thanee said:
Another question would be, does the caster level increase to 17 (or 18 for sorcerers?) accordingly?
Heighten Spell only affects spell level dependant variables, so no caster level increase.
 

Okay I just had a thought..what if you get divine metamagic: Heighthen spell, could you instanteneously cast any spell as if it was 9th level ?
 

Remove ads

Top