Scion said:
If you wish to read that aoo's may be triggered from the same person multiple times in a single round by simply running around them in their threat area you may also do that.
But it isnt what the rules say.
Actually, the rules about AoO's are not so clearly defined. They say something like, "Only 1 AoO per triggering condition", but they aren't very specific. For example, it triggers an AoO to leave a threatened square (in most situations). So if I run circles around someone, do I trigger multiple AoO's? I'm leaving multiple squares, aren't I? Now the DM makes a "reasonableness" ruling and says, "it means 'per move action'", so there's only one AoO. But that's not RAW.
It isnt movement, combat, spellcasting, skill use, conversation, or anything fairly demanind of physical or mental tasks necissarily either.
Hmm. I might be able to argue that it
is skill use. A skill usable only by divine spellcasters. A sort of "class ability", so to speak.
The item says to meditate for 8 hours and then you get to prepare all of your spells with maximise. If they wanted it to be divine only it would've been 'divine spells only'.
That's naive. There are plenty of places in the rules where they said one thing and meant something else. What do you think the FAQ is for?? Most of the FAQ entries clarify existing rules (although as Patryn would point out, some actually
contradict the RAW!). Clarification wouldn't be necessary if they had been written 100% correct the first time.
So I would say that because they can't be assumed to be 100% correct, this particular magic item is an example of an incorrect description: they meant to say, "divine spells only".
This does allow a divine spellcaster with the Magic or Spell domains to prepare maximized arcane spells, but that's because those domains provide a divine spellcaster with access to arcane spells
through their deity, not through any action of their own (like memorization).
IMC, the incense only applies to divine spells. And while I can't see that it really matters, I would rule that the magic item activation period is 8 hours, followed by the preparation itself, which is 1 hour. The key quote being that the incense "allows" the spells to be prepared maximized, not that it actually replaces the spell preparation time. Given what the item does, taking an additional hour is hardly much of a penalty, IMHO.