Initiative Question

In 1E - at least, from memory - once you had been unconscious and returned to consciousness via a cure spell, you were in a condition the equivalent of 3E's "staggered".

This is no longer the case, hence the "as if you had never been below 0".

It doesn't mean you roll back the character's personal timeline.

We have two people fighting on a castle wall, and one is knocked unconscious and falls. His Ring of Feather Fall activates, and he floats to the ground. His party cleric, at the base of the wall, casts a CLW.

Now, if he'd never been reduced below 0, he wouldn't have fallen. Does that mean that the CLW teleports him back up to the top of the wall? No. Likewise, if someone is unconscious, a cure spell does not make them "not prone" instantly. They still have to stand up.

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

In our game, for the sake of simplicity, everyone keeps their original initiative.

Though, it would make sense if you wanted initiative to be rerolled or even, as someone suggested, one initiative after they were healed be their new initiative number...

I don't believe there is any specific reference to this in the core books. though, the initiative stuff does say everyone keeps the same initiative number unless they change it by holding / etc. So that may lend more towards the keep same initiative number thing ...

anyway, bottom line, i don't recall anything concrete in the core books to answer your question.. just some "what we use" -- so whatever makes sense to your group I suppose. :)
 

Hypersmurf said:
In 1E - at least, from memory - once you had been unconscious and returned to consciousness via a cure spell, you were in a condition the equivalent of 3E's "staggered".

Eh, not quite.

AD&D 1st Ed. DMG, p. 82: "Any character brought to 0 (or fewer) hit points and then revived will remain in a coma for 1-6 turns. Thereafter, he or she must rest for a full week, minimum... this is true even if cure spells and/or healing potions are given to him or her."

Note that the 1-6 turns is equivalent to 10-60 minutes. And the "or fewer" clause assumes you're using the optional variant to not simply be dead after 0 hit points is reached.
 
Last edited:

AD&D 1st Ed. DMG, p. 82: "Any character brought to 0 (or fewer) hit points and then revived will remain in a coma for 1-6 turns. Thereafter, he or she must rest for a full week, minimum."

Right. I knew there were adverse effects :)

The "as if never" clause in 3E is a "not like that old rule!" rule.

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top