D&D General Interacting with Objects

Lord Twig

Adventurer
I haven't seen a good thread on exactly how the Interacting with Objects rules apply to different situations. If there is already one and I missed it, I apologize.

Here is the main rules section on Interacting with Objects:

Here are the questions I have and how I think they work.

If you want to fight with two weapons, can you use your one free interaction to draw one weapon, then take the Attack Action and draw another weapon so you can draw two weapons in one turn? If so, what is the point of the Quick Draw feature of Duel Wielder? (Other than weapon juggling cheese)

If you are a caster and take the Magic Action to cast a spell and don't have your focus in your hand, do you draw it as part of the Magic Action or do you need to use your free interaction? (This assumes not having a component pouch)

If you have a sword and shield, can you ready your shield using your free interaction and then draw your sword when you take the Attack Action?

The problem with figuring all of these out is that all of the rules are not in one place. You have to search through the book to see how everything interacts.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top