Intimidate stacking

daTim

First Post
The Intimidate skill:
Demoralize Opponent: You can also use Intimidate to weaken an opponent’s resolve in combat. To do so, make an Intimidate check opposed by the target’s modified level check (see above). If you win, the target becomes shaken for 1 round. A shaken character takes a –2 penalty on attack rolls, ability checks, and saving throws. You can intimidate only an opponent that you threaten in melee combat and that can see you.

And then the Special Conditions Section from the SRD:
Becoming Even More Fearful: Fear effects are cumulative. A shaken character who is made shaken again becomes frightened, and a shaken character who is made frightened becomes panicked instead. A frightened character who is made shaken or frightened becomes panicked instead.

If you successfully intimidated someone in combat, then on that same round another person successfully intimdated them, do they become frightened? If they are successfully intimidated a third time do they become panicked? If so, do these conditions also only last one round as well?

I realize it is relatively unlikely that somebody will be surrounded by 3 people who all successfully intimidate him in the same round, but I just saw that little bit about becoming more fearful and got curious. Thanks for any input.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

daTim said:
[...] I realize it is relatively unlikely that somebody will be surrounded by 3 people who all successfully intimidate him in the same round, but I just saw that little bit about becoming more fearful and got curious. [...]

Hi!

Nice train of thoughts. :) I can't see why you shouldn't be able to do so.

Kind regards
 



It's good to be a barbarian

Is demoralize opponent *ever* a worthwhile action to take?

If you have intimidating rage, it is :D . I had never actually considered this though. I'll have to check with my DM to see if he allows this.
 

If you have intimidating rage, it is . I had never actually considered this though. I'll have to check with my DM to see if he allows this.

I'll allow it (I'm Branok's DM). Just remember that what is good for the goose is good for the gander. Also, a failed cause fear (leave's you shaken) does not stack with another failed cause fear because effects from same spells don't stack.
 



I wonder if a barbarian can take 20 to intimidate with Intimidating Rage... it's a free action isn't it?
 
Last edited:

nimisgod said:
I wonder if a barbarian can take 20 to intimidate with Intimidating Rage... it's a free action isn't it?
I would rule that failure to intimidate renders one immune to the intimidation attempts of that particular PC for 24 hours, like the various other monstrous fear abilities out there. Therefore, taking 20 on Intimidate would result in automatic failure (since taking 20 is shorthand for a result of 1, then a result of 2, etc. The result of 1 would kill the Intimidation for 24 hours, even though the result of 20 would probably succeed.)
 

Remove ads

Top