Is a natural 20 a threat for a grenade?

diaglo said:


well that is my question. is there something "official" or do we have to turn to houserules?

thus the original question of this thread. do crits apply to grenadelike weapons?

and if there is a rule already in the books. then all the other questions can follow. like sneak attack, called shots, etc...;)

What would you do if this was spell? Look at the weapon-like spells in Tome and Blood. If it deals damage and requires an attack roll to hit, you can crit with it. This is the closest rule to alchemist fire. The only difference is a lack of magic and specific rules for missing.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

As for AF, it requires an attack roll to hit and does damage immediately. We are not talking about an area of effect. Attack roll + damage = critable. The difference, in this case, is that there is specific problem with missing and surrounding area gets splash. Splash is not targeted, and therefore not critable.

Yup. No crits on area damage, but the target of a direct hit with Alchemist's Fire is not taking area damage.

Crits and sneak attacks are just fine.

No crits or sneak attacks on people affected by splash damage, though.

(Or in other words, "What LokiDR said".)

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
(Or in other words, "What LokiDR said".)

-Hyp.

so is the threat a natural 20 and is the crit damage X2?

and if it is then go to the next thousand min/max nerf questions about sneak attack, reflex saves, etc...

btw i am a rogue. (Fiddle in the characters in the link in my sig)
 




Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top