Is there a save on the first part of Ghoul Touch?

Dracuwulf

First Post
Something a bit unclear in the 3.5 rules... Ghoul touch... is the Fort save listed on the spell header referring to the first attack, or to the stench for the victims (which lists a Fort save in the description). If I recall correctly, in 3.0 there was no save for the first hit, but the caster needed to touch the victim. In 3.5, it would seem odd that you need to touch attack and they get a fort save. Anyone know definitively?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hmmm... Off-hand, I can't tell. It says Fortitude negates, but it also specifically mentions that Fort negates the stench, while not mentioning anything for the paralysis.

Anybody else want to take a stab at this one?

Ghoul Touch
Necromancy

Level: Sor/Wiz 2

Components: V, S, M

Casting Time: 1 standard action

Range: Touch

Target: Living humanoid touched

Duration: 1d6+2 rounds

Saving Throw: Fortitude negates

Spell Resistance: Yes

Imbuing you with negative energy, this spell allows you to paralyze a single living humanoid for the duration of the spell with a successful melee touch attack.

Additionally, the paralyzed subject exudes a carrion stench that causes all living creatures (except you) in a 10-foot-radius spread to become sickened (Fortitude negates). A neutralize poison spell removes the effect from a sickened creature, and creatures immune to poison are unaffected by the stench.

Material Component: A small scrap of cloth taken from clothing worn by a ghoul, or a pinch of earth from a ghoul’s lair.
 

MerakSpielman said:
Hmmm... Off-hand, I can't tell. It says Fortitude negates, but it also specifically mentions that Fort negates the stench, while not mentioning anything for the paralysis.

Anybody else want to take a stab at this one?

Seems kind of obvious to me...
 
Last edited:

The save entry says Fortitude negates so the traget gets a save to have the spell have no effect on it. The spell does not say None; see text which I believe would be the correct entry if the traget received no save vs the paralyzation and all living creatures (except you) in a 10-foot-radius spread received a save vs becoming sickened.

From SRD
SAVING THROW
Usually a harmful spell allows a target to make a saving throw to avoid some or all of the effect. The Saving Throw entry in a spell description defines which type of saving throw the spell allows and describes how saving throws against the spell work.
Negates: The spell has no effect on a subject that makes a successful saving throw.
 
Last edited:


Darklone said:
I always gave a save against paralyze.... for the hit victim as well. Otherwise the spell is overkill.

no kidding. I doubt WOTC did all that work to nerf sleep to nothingness just to leave this spell a viruta insta killer
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top