Is there actually a disarm power?

Rechan

Adventurer
I know that some have said "Just describe pushing or sliding a foe as disarming them and they go after the item in question." I use that, that's fine.

But I'm curious if disarm-related powers exist. Because some monsters have powers that state: REQUIRES [weapon the monster is using]. If the monster couldn't lose that weapon to begin with, then why state that?

For instance, the Ogre Warhulk. The first power statted out is the basic attack, which is a heavy flail. Then, the next power is a standard encounter that states "Requires Heavy Flail".

Why is it required, if the ogre would never lose it in the course of a battle if there is no overt means to disarm the ogre?
 

log in or register to remove this ad





They changed it because actually rendering an opponent unarmed in many cases effectively kills them; you've taken away their primary method of dealing damage. I like the idea of using it as flavor for slides. Alternatively, you could decide that after dropping an enemy to zero hit points, rather than dying or unconscious, you can render him disarmed.

If, for story reasons, you need to grab an object that is in your enemy's hand or on his person, a savvy DM could improvise a system involving grabbing and what not. But as far as being able to render someone disarmed at will, it's too powerful.
 

They changed it because actually rendering an opponent unarmed in many cases effectively kills them; you've taken away their primary method of dealing damage. I like the idea of using it as flavor for slides. Alternatively, you could decide that after dropping an enemy to zero hit points, rather than dying or unconscious, you can render him disarmed.


This. Cinematically, disarming someone either is a minor annoyance (the shift/push/pull to get back their weapon) or it eliminates them from the combat. So why not use the rules we have for eliminating someone from the combat (HPs, remember they're very abstract and have nothing to do with physical injury unless you want them to)?



As for why the powers note that they need weapons: a canny rogue or Mage Hand wielding wizard might grab a weapon away before combat begins. Or the GM has decided that the monsters are better or worse equipped than the PHB ones and they use different weapons.
 



One of the example results of a successful Intimidate check is forcing a bloodied opponent to surrender, not quite the same thing as a disarm maneuver in combat.
Actually, regardless of the opponent being bloodied or not an intimidate check may be used "to cow a target into taking some other action." Pretty open to interpretation in my mind.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top