Is this an Attack of Opportunity?

Let's say we have a cat and an ogre in the same square (three size categories difference).

Our adjacent cleric casts Inflict Light Wounds defensively, and zaps the cat.

Does his touch attack on the cat provoke an AoO from the ogre?

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hypersmurf said:
Let's say we have a cat and an ogre in the same square (three size categories difference).

Our adjacent cleric casts Inflict Light Wounds defensively, and zaps the cat.

Does his touch attack on the cat provoke an AoO from the ogre?

-Hyp.

Hmmm... I have to think about this some more. Your situation is a bit different, but close enough to have me wondering
 


Touch spells simply do not provoke (the touching part). It's just like hitting someone with Improved Unarmed Strike.

The 'touching six friends' provokes, since you have to let your guard down in order to make SIX touch 'attacks' instead of the usual one, that is allowed normally.

Bye
Thanee
 

Thanee said:
Touch spells simply do not provoke (the touching part). It's just like hitting someone with Improved Unarmed Strike.

The 'touching six friends' provokes, since you have to let your guard down in order to make SIX touch 'attacks' instead of the usual one, that is allowed normally.

Bye
Thanee

Yes, but does reaching into my square with your hand provoke (providing you are not using an attack that does not provoke)? I am not positive on this one and I don't think it's directly addressed in the rules.
 

Thanee said:
The 'touching six friends' provokes, since you have to let your guard down in order to make SIX touch 'attacks' instead of the usual one, that is allowed normally.

Bye
Thanee

It is actually "touching UP TO six friends". Certainly 1 friend counts as part of "up to six friends" just as 2, 3, 4 and 5 friends count as "up to six friends". So if your friend is prone and unconcious, you would provoke from trying to touch him, no?

Side question(s) concerning RAW:
Are the in-game terms "friend" and "ally" synonymous?
Are there any rules for delcaring someone a friend, ally or enemy?
 

RigaMortus2 said:
It is actually "touching UP TO six friends". Certainly 1 friend counts as part of "up to six friends" just as 2, 3, 4 and 5 friends count as "up to six friends". So if your friend is prone and unconcious, you would provoke from trying to touch him, no?
Sure, I'd agree to that but when you use that rule, make sure you enforce the fact that it's a full round action. That is, the above scenario can't even occur unless the cleric casts the spell and waits until his turn next round so that he has a full-round action to spend.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
Sure, I'd agree to that but when you use that rule, make sure you enforce the fact that it's a full round action. That is, the above scenario can't even occur unless the cleric casts the spell and waits until his turn next round so that he has a full-round action to spend.

Exactly - the AoO for touching up to six friends in listed in the full-round actions table. There is no equivalent rule for touching one friend, which is a good thing as it allows for combat healing which might otherwise draw an AoO.

The spin on this is when the touch attack is trying to get into the same square as the person who might get to take the AoO.
 

Let's not get wrapped around the "casting a spell" part of the scenario... the cleric cast it when he was out of the threatened area.

Hypersmurf made an excellent point with the Cat and Ogre Show, but I could just as easily answer "yes, it does trigger an AoO". Just because two things share a space does not mean that reaching into that space should be any less dangerous. (Would touching the cat with an attack be any less dangerous than trying to grab something that's not a razor-tipped furball?)

To me, the determinant of whether an action draws an AoO or not is how much attention it requires (italics mine).

SRD: Some actions, when performed in a threatened square, provoke attacks of opportunity as you divert your attention from the battle. Actions in Combat notes many of the actions that provoke attacks of opportunity.​

Touching a fallen comrade when your enemy is standing over his body is something that I feel "diverts attention". It's not the spell that draws it.

There may never be full agreement on this, and that's fine. :cool: D&D is and always has been a fairly subjective rule set. (Hence my motto: "D&D is only as balanced as the DM.") Even if my DM disagrees with my assessment, I'll go with his interpretation as long as it's fairly applied.

Telas
 

Telas said:
Hypersmurf made an excellent point with the Cat and Ogre Show, but I could just as easily answer "yes, it does trigger an AoO". Just because two things share a space does not mean that reaching into that space should be any less dangerous. (Would touching the cat with an attack be any less dangerous than trying to grab something that's not a razor-tipped furball?)

What about a monk attacking the cat with an unarmed strike?

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top