Artoomis said:You know, KarinsDad, I don't really expect to convince you, but I'd like to get you to admit that there might be more than one legitimate way to veiw this situation within the rules.
Hard to do in this case.
Touch spells do not provoke.
Just like many other actions in the game do not provoke.
Adding a provoke when one does not exist seems inherently wrong to me. It seems like DM heavy handedness. It matters not which square an enemy is in, you provoke only when the rules say so.
At first, this seemed like an open-ended question. But, the more I investigated, the more it became clear that this was "wishful thinking".
To me, the provoke list should be one that is pretty much a solid list. You don't really add stuff to it.
It's not as if the book states "in cases of unusual movement, you should add an AoO".
The book never recommends adding an AoO for any reason. It lists when they occur. It also states that there could be some more (not that DMs should add more). This appears to be a minor quibble that they left it open-ended so that splat books and possibly other places in the core books that they missed could add to the list.
But, it seems crystal clear to me. Free actions do not ever provoke. Not An Action actions do not ever provoke. Just like a Quicken Spell does not provoke as a Swift Action, even though casting spells normally provokes. Free Actions, Immediate Actions, Swift Actions and Not An Action actions are just too fast to provoke.
To give them this quality of equating to Move Actions and Standard Actions that are slower and take more effort and sometimes do provoke seems inherently wrong to me. Next, someone will be wanting to give an AoO because someone is in the same square, or because a character is moving on a horse (note: doing an AoO on the horse is fine, not the rider), or against a Familiar because a Familiar is on a PCs shoulder when the PC moves, or for a soft fall off a horse (which btw is a No Action action) because they see it as movement.
Quite frankly, I'm kind of surprised that you have not "switched sides" in this. Your position appears to be that although Touch Spells do not provoke, you want to make them provoke for this special circumstance. Very strange.
There are times when the rules appear to be a shade of gray. This does not appear to be one of those times. You want me to admit there is a shade of gray when one does not exist. Sorry, no can do.
