We've also had plenty of people argue for one level of wizard allowing for you to add every wizard spell to your spellbook. If this article is AI, I wouldn't be surprised if it got some (incorrect) info from ENworld.My instinct was also to say that AI had something to do with it, buuut to be fair we've had things like "this cantrip is better than 5th level spells!" clickbait videos before AI. So human slop is equally likely :'D
Rory's a real person who got it wrong.This claim is incorrect under both the 2014 and 2024 rules. It does, however, reflect how multiclassing works in Baldur's Gate 3, so either an author is incorrectly extrapolating into the tabletop game or an LLM is repeating language from BG3 guides.
Article Argument: by taking only 1 level in wizard, you learn & cast every wizard spell, using scrolls to add spells.
Answer: No. On p44 (PHB 2024), it specifically says you "prepare" spells as if you were a "single-class" wizard of that level. So, you'll be limited always to only preparing 1st level wizard spells, no matter your available spell slots.
On p45, it notes your spell slots may be higher than what you can prepare. You might even get to a point that you have, for example, 3rd level slots and no class that can cast 3rd level spells. Whether multi-classing or not, you can always slot in a lower-level spell into a higher spell slot. Sometimes this boosts the spell, sometimes it won't. In this instance, you can slot in a 1st level spell, for example, to cast in that higher slot (e.g. boost burning hands to deal more damage) but you'll never be able to cast a wizard's fireball.
I don't see any authority that supports the author's claim that "scrolls" let you bypass the rules. That's nonsense.
I know how to reach them (my spouse used to work for GeekMom) so dropped them an email inviting them to this thread to read the feedback and respond if it suits them.I don't even see a way to leave feedback or make a comment.
Was reading this article...
![]()
Why D&D Spellcasters Should Take Exactly 1 Level in Wizard (and No More)
Taking a single level in Wizard grants you the entire Wizard Spell list. Click through to learn how this works, and how you can use it to make your games more exciting.geekdad.com
and wondered if it was accurate about using the spellbook?
Though I think for most it’s purely a what is RAW question. I don’t expect any or at most extremely few actually play or played it that way.
Technically RAW this is true in 2024 rules. You can prepare a spell as you have slots for it and you can copy it into your book as long as you can prepare it. Here is the relevant text:
Prepared Spells of Level 1+. You prepare the list of level 1+ spells that are available for you to cast with this feature. To do so, choose four spells from your spellbook. The chosen spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots.
Copying a Spell into the Book. When you find a level 1+ Wizard spell, you can copy it into your spellbook if it’s of a level you can prepare and if you have time to copy it. For each level of the spell, the transcription takes 2 hours and costs 50 GP. Afterward you can prepare the spell like the other spells in your spellbook.
So for example a Wizard 1/Cleric 19 has a 9th level spell slot. So she can prepare a 9th level spell if it is in her book. Since she can prepare a 9th level spell, if she finds or buys a scroll of Wish she can copy it into her book.
This is not RAI, but it is RAW.