FrogReaver
The most respectful and polite poster ever
The section in copying a spells into the wizards spell book doesn’t specify wizard because it’s in the wizard section and only wizards have spellbooks. It doesn’t need to specific anything else because it’s a description of a rule for wizards.
When it comes to multi-classing you might have a point. Were it not for the fact that the multi-classing rules make it very clear that spells are prepared individually for classes. You don’t get to carry over abilities from other classes when it comes to what is prepared as a wizard. It’s pretty explicit.
Not sure why anyone would think or want it to be otherwise.
That’s my take as well, but I think there’s enough of a smidge of ambiguity there to make it not 100% clear. Whats intended is fairly obvious though and it’s exactly what you said above.