Item Creation

irdeggman said:
Wands and staves are always spell trigger items but not all spell trigger items need be wands or staves.

Potions are use activated items (like most wondrous items by the way).

Wondrous items are broader and can be of any activation method. Types (in the wondrous item text) refers to type of items (i.e., tied into the craft feats) not the activation method.
True. My bad.

However, a potion that is use activated by drinking has a standard action as activation time because no matter what spell is in the potion, drinking one is a standard action. I wanted to point out that "use activated" doesn't mean "takes as long as drinking a potion".
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Elethiomel said:
True. My bad.

However, a potion that is use activated by drinking has a standard action as activation time because no matter what spell is in the potion, drinking one is a standard action. I wanted to point out that "use activated" doesn't mean "takes as long as drinking a potion".

Right and I wanted to point out that this type of item is most likely (or at least as likely) a spell trigger item (that can be used by anyone (maybe)).
 



And a free action since it is specified as such.

from SRD:
Unless stated otherwise, activating a use-activated magic item is either a standard action or not an action at all and does not provoke attacks of opportunity, unless the use involves performing an action that provokes an attack of opportunity in itself.
 

irdeggman said:
Right and I wanted to point out that this type of item is most likely (or at least as likely) a spell trigger item (that can be used by anyone (maybe)).
If it can be used by anyone, it isn't a spell trigger item. A spell trigger item requires the character to have the spell on their spell list, or to make a UMD DC 20 check - an activation method that doesn't have those requirements isn't a spell trigger.
 

Elethiomel said:
If it can be used by anyone, it isn't a spell trigger item. A spell trigger item requires the character to have the spell on their spell list, or to make a UMD DC 20 check - an activation method that doesn't have those requirements isn't a spell trigger.

As a general rule - but any item can give specifics that change this.

For example eternal wands from Eberron. They are wondrous items that funciton like a wand except anyone who can cast arcane spells can use them. So a wizard can cast CLW from an eternal wand.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top