Items dissolved by Oozes question

gfunk

First Post
I know that if an item is in the possession of a character, then it uses that PCs save bonuses. However, what happens when a held weapon hits an Ooze that can dissolve said weapon with acid. Does the PC making the hit get to add the enhancement bonus of his weapon to his own save bonus for making Reflex saves? Or does the PC simply use his own reflex save w/o modification?

Thanks.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The weapon gets the character's save bonus or its own save bonus, whichever is better; he doesn't generally get to use the bonuses from both to get a still better save bonus than his own or its own.

I did notice that a number of the oozes in the Tome of Horrors, in the description of their Acid ability, seem to violate this; they get to add their enhancement bonus to their save, presumably whichever bonus they use.
 

Use the higher of the two. No modifiers other than the PC's regular modifiers (including bonuses for items, spells, etc. I believe {PHBp.136 - Saving Throws}). ~D

The interesting part is that, based on the description in the MM,
the weapon will escape damage altogether if you make your
Reflex save. Furthermore, if you don't, your weapon is toast
regardless of acid damage done.

Monster Manual p.145-146:
Acid:...The ooze's acidic touch deals 40 points of damage per round to wood or metal objects.
...A metal or wooden weapon that strikes a gray ooze also dissolves immediately unless it succeeds at a Reflex save (DC19).

If the Ooze did 40 points to a Heavy Mace (H:10/hp:25) and the
following rule is applied:

PHB p.135:
Damage to Objects:
...Energy Attacks: Objects take half damage from acid, fire, and lightning attacks. Divide damage by 2 before applying the hardness.

Theoretically, the mace would survive. But, such is life.

~D
 

Remove ads

Top