KOTS, NPC encounter power help? :)

Can anyone help with an encounter power some NPCs have, in KOTS, please?
Will put in spoilers
[sblock="NPC power help"]

The hobgoblins have the HOBGOBLIN RESILIENCE, power.
it states:

immediate reaction, when hobgoblin suffers an effect that allows a save:encounter
The hobgoblin can make an immediate saving throw against the triggering effect.

What does this mean, exactly? Do they get TWO saving throw rolls? Normal and this encounter one, if the DM chosses to use it?
If so, shouldn't the wording be a bit better? Like "the hobgoblin gets to roll a second saving throw against an effect if this power is used, and may use which ever roll is better"
or some such?

Ta for any help :)
[/sblock]
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Saves are normally at teh end of the turn, so a character under an effect has this effect on him for at least his whole turn. Hobgoblins are allowed to save at the exact moment the effect is put on him, so in effect on somebody elses (the caster/power user) turn. If the hobgoblin saves right then, he doesn't have the effect on him for his whole turn, which is where the advantage comes in...
If he fails to pass that immediate save, he still gets to save at the normal time at the end of his turn...
 

Silverblade The Ench said:
Can anyone help with an encounter power some NPCs have, in KOTS, please?
Will put in spoilers
[sblock="NPC power help"]

The hobgoblins have the HOBGOBLIN RESILIENCE, power.
it states:



What does this mean, exactly? Do they get TWO saving throw rolls? Normal and this encounter one, if the DM chosses to use it?
If so, shouldn't the wording be a bit better? Like "the hobgoblin gets to roll a second saving throw against an effect if this power is used, and may use which ever roll is better"
or some such?

Ta for any help :)
[/sblock]
You roll one saving throw for each effect designated as allowing/requiring a save at the end of your turn.

If you get an extra save, you can make it as specified, in this case, it is done immediately after the effect hits you and you use the ability. You still get the regular save at the usual time (if still required).
 

It means that once per encounter, when an effect with (save ends) is applied to the hobgoblin, they get to immediately save (right then). They still get their normal saving throw at the end of their turn, as well.

"immediate reaction" means this ability takes place right after the action that placed the effect ends. Wizard casts Sleep on some hobgoblins--they are slowed for their next turn, and need a save to break the slow/not fall asleep.

Rather than wait till the end of their next turn to save (being slowed) they could save immediately.

Hmmm. That means they might fall asleep right away. Interesting. Needs a "the hobgoblin can not suffer negative effects for failing this save".
 

Xorn said:
Rather than wait till the end of their next turn to save (being slowed) they could save immediately.

Hmmm. That means they might fall asleep right away. Interesting.
Indeed. Hobgoblins should be careful when deciding whether to use the ability or not against such effects.
 

Right, gotcha, thank you all! :)

Still not used ot the idea that the caster makes the attack as a "SAVE", as it were. Attack vs defence (4th ed) rather than DC vs defender save (3rd ed) and thus saves are for ONGOING effects: debuffs, DOTs etc.

I once had a brain, but it left the building, years ago... :D
 

Xorn said:
Hmmm. That means they might fall asleep right away. Interesting. Needs a "the hobgoblin can not suffer negative effects for failing this save".

Agreed, and unless there is a reason stated against such a house rule I would go with that. There very well may be other miss save type effects or damage. The idea behind the ability is that they are more resistant to effects so a free save with no side effects would be how I would run it.

MM
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top