Lance and Power Attack

Cam Banks

Adventurer
Quick question, inspired by a thread on another message board:

Can a lance be used by a mounted character with two hands? Assume the character makes his DC 5 riding with the knees check, can he use Power Attack and two-hand the lance into a target to enjoy the greater Power Attack multiplier etc etc? I know the RAW says he can use the lance one-handed when mounted, but it doesn't say he has to.

Cheers,
Cam
 

log in or register to remove this ad


The FAQ may something say else, but the RAW indicates (to me) that you can wield it two-handed.

I've never actually really studied jousting, but I am sort of befuddled as to how you would actually do this effectively. Nevertheless, the rules say you can.
 

Moved to Rules.

-Hyp.
(Moderator)

(Of course, strictly as written in the PHB, he gets the extra bonus damage from Power Attack even if he uses the lance in one hand.)
 



in MHO I would say no. You use a two handed weapon to gain more leverage and thus apply more strength. Holding a lance with two hands dosent apply more leverage as the damage is caused by the charging mount, your just trying to aim, not from you swinging the weapon with greater force.
 


Fieari said:
By the RAW, you get the 2-handed power attack even if you hold it in one hand. So no worries there.

What's the specifics behind this interpretation? That Power Attack works that way with any two-handed weapon regardless of whether it is used in one hand or not? If that's true, what about Large creatures using two-handed Medium weapons in one hand?

Cheers,
Cam
 

Cam Banks said:
What's the specifics behind this interpretation? That Power Attack works that way with any two-handed weapon regardless of whether it is used in one hand or not?

Right.

If that's true, what about Large creatures using two-handed Medium weapons in one hand?

Inappropriately Sized Weapons: A creature can’t make optimum use of a weapon that isn’t properly sized for it. A cumulative –2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference between the size of its intended wielder and the size of its actual wielder. If the creature isn’t proficient with the weapon a –4 nonproficiency penalty also applies.

The measure of how much effort it takes to use a weapon (whether the weapon is designated as a light, one-handed, or two-handed weapon for a particular wielder) is altered by one step for each size category of difference between the wielder’s size and the size of the creature for which the weapon was designed. If a weapon’s designation would be changed to something other than light, one-handed, or two-handed by this alteration, the creature can’t wield the weapon at all.


A Large creature wielding a Medium two-handed weapon is considered to be wielding a one-handed weapon. A one-handed weapon wielded in one hand only gets 1-for-1 Power Attack.

A horseman, on the other hand, is wielding a two-handed weapon in one hand, thanks to the special property of the lance.

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top