Lance and Power Attack

The Main 3.5e FAQ has a question/answer entry specifically about lances which contradicts the H-Smurf's position.

You can get a host of benefits from wielding a two-handed
weapon, such as 1-1/2 times your Strength bonus on
damage (and twice your damage bonus from the Power
Attack feat) and a +4 bonus on your opposed attack roll if
someone tries to disarm you. So when is a weapon “two-handed?”
For example, a lance is a two-handed weapon,
right? But you can wield it in one hand when you’re
mounted. Since the weapons table shows that a lance is a
two-handed weapon, I get all the two-handed benefits no
matter how I wield the lance, right?


Wrong. Table 7–5 in the Player’s Handbook lists weapons
as light, one-handed, or two-handed strictly as a matter of
convenience. These size categories are always relative to the
wielder’s size, as explained in some detail in the section on
weapon size on page 113 in the Player’s Handbook (also see
next question)

When the combat rules speak of “two-handed” weapons,
they’re referring to how the weapon is being used. A Medium
character using a Medium longsword in two hands is using a
“two-handed” weapon. The same character using a Medium
lance in one hand while mounted is using a one-handed
weapon. [...]

So, if you pay attention to the Main 3.5e FAQ, there you are. If you ignore it, there you aren't.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

kjenks said:
The Main 3.5e FAQ has a question/answer entry specifically about lances which contradicts the H-Smurf's position.

It also directly contradicts the PHB :)

"A Medium character using a Medium longsword in two hands is using a 'two-handed' weapon."

And yet, in the PHB, we find:

"If you attack with a two-handed weapon, or with a one-handed weapon wielded in two hands, instead add twice the number subtracted from your attack rolls."

and

"If a one-handed weapon is wielded with two hands during melee combat, add 1-1/2 times the character’s Strength bonus to damage rolls."

If we follow the FAQ's take on the matter, both those lines are nonsensical. A one-handed weapon can't be wielded in two hands, according to the FAQ, because any weapon wielded in two hands is a two-handed weapon.

Taking the FAQ's logic further, if I wield a greatsword in one hand, it would cease to be a two-handed weapon, becoming, rather, a one-handed weapon. The two-handed weapon requirement to wield a weapon in two hands no longer applies, so there's no rule preventing me wielding the greatsword in one hand, per the rules for one-handed weapons.

And, of course, I can double my longsword's hit points just by holding it with both hands ('two-handed blade' has 10 hit points, as opposed to the 'one-handed blade' with just 5).

The FAQ answer demonstrates a fundamental lack of understanding of the 3.5 weapon sizing system.

-Hyp.
 

SRD said:
Lance: .....While mounted, you can wield a lance with one hand.

So...according to Hyp's interpretation, since the lance is listed on the table as a two-handed melee weapon, the (appropriately-sized) lance always gets the 1 1/2 Str bonus, 2-for-1 power attack trade, etc.....even though you can weild it with one hand while mounted (a special ability of lances).

Sounds fine to me.
 


:) ......'cause I've heard it once or twice before.... :)

It's a good interp. IIRC, it's one of the rule interps you cut your teeth on....here at ENWorld, at any rate.
 

Nail said:
IIRC, it's one of the rule interps you cut your teeth on....here at ENWorld, at any rate.

Not really... it didn't come up until 3.5 was released. The original thread was 20 pages on the WotC boards.

-Hyp.
 

Yep. That was a beast. The phrase "a two-handed weapon weilded in two hands" still rings in my ears.

...oh wait, that's the phone. Just a sec....
 

Cam Banks said:
Quick question, inspired by a thread on another message board:

Can a lance be used by a mounted character with two hands? Assume the character makes his DC 5 riding with the knees check, can he use Power Attack and two-hand the lance into a target to enjoy the greater Power Attack multiplier etc etc? I know the RAW says he can use the lance one-handed when mounted, but it doesn't say he has to.

Cheers,
Cam

Hello,

In fact, the rules will allow you to do it. But this not logical and practical according to me.

If your dm is nice he could allow you to use the feat power attack with a lance on a horse, but not with two hand on the lance, without a serious penalty to attack roll and good ride check to stay in saddle, according to me.

How can you put more strenght by holding your lance in two hand while you're riding, you'll find this position very not confortable to get a good hit, and you'll risk to fall from the saddle.

My point is in real life i dont see why the cavalier would take such a risk, in fact this only power gaming for have more damage with the lance. The art of the lance with a horse is simply to aim with one hand and the damage is done by the horse weight and speed and not with your arm or strenght, so i dont think that all DM will allow the power attack feat on a charge.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top