werk
First Post
Sejs said:Core - no. Savage Species - yes.
p27, Monster Classes and Multiclassing.
But that's for monstrous class progression...
I believe your rules post spot-on if using moster class progression, but is a bit out of context and misleading if you are not.
If we are not using monstrous class progression, then there is no precedent as far as I can tell, and it looks like the core rules point the other direction. It even says "Even if the creature is of a kind that normally advances by Hit Dice rather than class levels a PC can gain class levels rather than Hit Dice." Which can also be taken out of context, but I think shows a preference for monstrous PCs to advance by class rather than HD by RAW.
This is just an exercise, so ignore your DM-sense tingling about exploitation of the rules for a minute...
Let's turn it around, you have a level 8 necromancer, make him your BBEG (to pull out the RBDMs) and give him leadership. He finds a troll clutch and decides to train a bodyguard. He somehow controls a troll (ECL 11) and gets him to lose all of his 6 HD (LA+5). Is the troll low enough to become his cohort? Can he then advance by levels instead of HD?
Obviously we're into DM fiat territory as a lack of specific rules, just looking for opinions.