LG vs. N: Lawful Good Victorious!


log in or register to remove this ad

A slender, hairless humanoid with silvery skin saunters into the arena to 80N80E. It is wearing flowing white robes, and carrying a greatsword, with which he gestures in the direction of Stormongo and Minx.

Minx is first in round 607. Minx knows nothing about her opponent except for what she has observed.
 

HexaMinx flaps to 75n 55e 20z, and blesses herself and Stormongo (Prayer) while cursing the silver dude. To Mongo she says "this silver dude looks like he wants to hurt me - could you see if you can convince him to leave?"
 

Round 607: Mongo replies, "No, he is my friend." (rolled 21 Will save) A somewhat torn Stormongo flies up to 60N60E100Z to find out which of his friends will win this battle.
Silver Dude is not affected by the curse (rolled 19 CL check).

Silver Dude beckons in a manly fashion towards HexaMinx (rolled 26 CL check). She thinks that Silver Dude is gnarly, and decides to join Silver Dude in the battle (rolled 16+1=17 Will save). Stormongo is thrilled that his two good friends are now such good friends.

Silver Dude is unharmed, and at 80N80E. Stormongo is at 60N60E100Z with 75 HP, and HexaMinx is at 75N55E20Z and at 77 HP.

First in round 608 for Lawful Good is something that Gansk will have to let us know about.
 
Last edited by a moderator:



OOC: Yes, it does, but to my knowledge it had not been activated. The prayer and mirror image would be suppressed if the aura had been activated prior to the casting of those spells. Even if it had been activated, it would not have helped against what the rilmani did to Minx.
 

OOC: It has to be activated? I can see the free action to create it again, but I would not have thought it wouldn't be activated. But, in any case, my point was that the magic circle against evil protects against all enchantment (charm) effects in a 20ft radius.
 

OOC: Yes, it has to be activated.

Oh, I see your point about protecting against charms. I think protection from evil spell does not protect against charm monster, because it only protects against effects that grant the caster ongoing control. In the text for charm person, it says that you do not gain control of the recipient; it just believes you are a very good friend and ally.

Although the above paragraph might be open to debate, it does not matter in this case. When Minx cast mirror image and prayer, she clearly did not want a lesser globe of invulnerability effect make the former spells useless, so the ability must not have been activated.

Edit: Infiniti, while hanging laundry (hanging laundry is perfect for when you need to think), I remembered that you do not have the Fiend Folio, which got me to wondering where you were getting your information. I looked up angels in the Monster Manual, and saw that the protective aura does not have to be activated, unlike the protective aura as described in the Fiend Folio.

My ruling still stands, due to Minx having used spells that would not work in the aura.

This discrepancy should be addressed, however. The protective aura as used in the Monster Manual should probably be the default, although it is silly that devas have spell-like abilities that they would not be able to use, unless they first used dispel magic on themselves to eliminate the aura.
 
Last edited:

The Fiend Folio is different! Argh!

Fwiw, I agree that PfE should not protect against charms, but I don't think that is the rule. It protects against all charms + those compulsions that grant ongoing control. This has been debated in the Rules forum for some time, though, so let's see what Gansk's take on it is. I'm happy enough with your choice.

Also, while we're on it, I disagree with your take on the invulnerability. I argue that you can cast low level spells while inside the globe, just not from outside in. Without this interpretation, though, an astral deva loses access to a number of spell-like abilities unless she uses dispel magic to suppress her own aura. While possible, it's odd. :)
 

Remove ads

Top