son of adventures in custserv
Sigh....
Well, I must say that I appreciate the effort he is going to to clarify matters, and certainly I would think an RPGA judge would be knowledgable about what the rules mean, the reply I got has managed to add to inaccuracy that had not previously existed in this situation. I am running out of polite ways of saying your that they are not answering my question. The following e-mails are true, the names have been removed to protect the participants:
My e-mail to custserv following phone conversation:
What kind of check is required to direct a warhorse to attack while mounted?
Custserv reply:
After talking with you and this morning checking with a RPGA Judge we have found that to direct a warhorse to attack while mounted would require the DC10 Ride check, Even if you wish to just have your horse move up and attack by itself. If you do not have your horse attack but simply move up and you attack this would not require any additional check (and would not require the DC 10 check)
To direct a creature to attack while not mounted on it it would require a DC 20 Handle animal check.
Thank you.
Needless to say, since this simply brought things back to where they started, and added the Handle Animal DC error, I fired off a reply:
Thanks for the follow up, unfortunately, I must now ask you additional questions.
1. Where does it say that a DC10 ride check is necessary to have your mount attack? The only things under the Ride skill that talk about attacking are Guide with Knees, DC 5, which allows you to use both hands to fight while riding, Control Mount in Battle, DC 20, which doesn't apply to warmounts, and the Fight with Warhorse, DC 10, which talks about getting your attacks if your mount attacks. Is the Fight with Warhorse use meant to apply to having your mount attack? If so, why doesn't it say so more clearly, and will errata be released reflecting this intent?
2. While I can understand a Handle Animal check to direct a warmount you're not sitting on, why would it be a DC 20 check to have a warmount perform a trick it knows? As per the skill, it is a DC 10 to perform a trick an animal knows, and a DC 25 to 'push' an animal to perform a trick it doesn't know.
Thank you for taking the time to help me resolve this issue.