Mage of the Arcane Order?

0-hr

Starship Cartographer
Does anyone know if this PrC is going to make it into 3.5, and if so, will it be changed much from the 3.0 (Tome & Blood) version? Are there any 3.5 books out that deal with things like Spellpool and what not?

I'm starting a 3.5 campaign and my DM is willing to let me use the 3.0 version of the PrC for now, but I'm concerned that things may change drastically when Complete Arcane comes out. :\
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I don't really see that the MotAA needs a lot of updating anyway. Who cares if the Complete Arcane changes things around?
 


Thanee said:
You might want to use the limits put on the Spellpool from Magic of Faerûn, tho.

Incidentally, I was wondering if PGtF updated anything about spellpools in FR. The rules were not completely clear in T&B to me, I wanted to play a Sorcerer/Mage of the Arcane Order (with Arcane Preparation) and I remember that I gave up the idea only because it could have been quite troublesome...
 

No, PGtF doesn't have any rules about Spellpool. The Guild Mage (FR version of the spellpool wizard) isn't in there either.

Besides, AFAIK Sorcerers are not able to use the Spellpool, since they cannot leave prepared slots open (even with Arcane Preparation), which are required by the Spellpool to work.

Bye
Thanee
 

Thanee said:
Besides, AFAIK Sorcerers are not able to use the Spellpool, since they cannot leave prepared slots open (even with Arcane Preparation), which are required by the Spellpool to work.

The Tome and Blood version of the spellpool seems to intend that it's only for wizards as the references throughout are wizard-centric. The Magic of Faerun version doesn't seem to intend that spellpool access be limited to wizards as it specifies "sorcerers nor wizards can learn the called spell via spellpool access", as well as a few other sorcerer specific clarifications elsewhere in the spellpool description.

You could consider sorcerers to be leaving all their spell slots open as they don't have to assign them until they use them. So when they call a spell from the spellpool they know it temporarily and can use any open spell slot of the appropriate level or higher to cast it, and then have to call it again if they want to cast it again.
 

Mephistopheles said:
You could consider sorcerers to be leaving all their spell slots open as they don't have to assign them until they use them. So when they call a spell from the spellpool they know it temporarily and can use any open spell slot of the appropriate level or higher to cast it, and then have to call it again if they want to cast it again.
That's why I had put a "strictly reading ..." in there above, but I must have deleted it at some point. ;)

I must read the MoF version again. I only remember, that it put some limits on what spells are available via a percentage chance, but not how or if it changes or clarifies the mechanics.

Bye
Thanee
 

Remove ads

Top