Magic atop Magic

Kannik

Legend
Greets everyone... I'm having a bit of a brain-lock and can't remember the answer to this.

If one casts a spell such as Magic Weapon or Magic Vestment, will it add to the enhancement bonus on an already-magical weapon/armour, or will it work more in the 'whichever has the higher bonus wins out' principal? While the latter is usually true (named bonuses do not stack save for dodge), so that if one is wearing a Ring of Protection +1 (Deflection bonus) and one casts Shield of Faith which grants a +3 Deflection bonus (10th level), then the user gains a +3 Deflection bonus, not +4. However, given that Magic Weapon/Vestment is what's used in the first place to make magic weapons/armour, does it add to the current bonus, up to the max of +5? ie, if you had a +3 weapon and your Greater Magic Weapon spell adds +3 enhancement bonus, would it thus become (temporarily) a +5 weapon?

I can see it either way -- and I don't know why I can't remember the answer to this :P

Thanks a tonne,

Kannik
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The enhancement bonuses overlap, they don't stack.

Note that neither magic vestment nor magic weapon are needed to enchant magic armour and weapons. Even if they were, it would be irrelevant -- the only functions of item prerequisites are to provide flavour, and to limit who can create the items in question. There are no rules that link the prereqs to the actual item powers.
 


Also, you *don't* use Magic Weapon/Vestment in the first place in order to make a magic weapon/armor. You just need the Craft Magic Arms & Armor feat.
 

Staffan said:
Also, you *don't* use Magic Weapon/Vestment in the first place in order to make a magic weapon/armor. You just need the Craft Magic Arms & Armor feat.

One doesn't need that anymore? Yikes... look at my 1st Ed/2nd Ed memories coming back to mess with my gamerule memory... }:)

Thanks everyone for the replies! Now I've got my head back on straight...

Kannik
 

Remove ads

Top