D&D 5E Magic Item Costs in 5E

kramer81

First Post
So I have been DMing Fifth Edition for about two months now, and the party is about 5th level.

Soon they will start being able to purchase magic items, but as of right now there are no rules for prices of items.

Does anyone have any suggestions or recommendations?

Do you have the September play test packet? There were suggested item costs based on rarity.

Of course, the core game in 5e also assumes that magic items--except a few potions or scrolls--cannot just be purchased. You have to quest/adventure to find them. If you prefer magic item shops in your campaign, that's your call. But it's a house rule--or at least a non-core option--so I don't know if I'd expect too much support for it.

Bumamgar

First Post
Player's Handbook, p144 under 'Selling Treasure':

Magic Items. Selling magic items is problematic. Finding someone to buy a potion or a scroll isn’t too hard, but other items are out of the realm of most but the wealthiest nobles. Likewise, aside from a few common magic items, you won’t normally come across magic items or spells to purchase. The value of magic is far beyond simple gold and should always be treated as such.

Mr Fixit

Explorer
Player's Handbook, p144 under 'Selling Treasure':

Magic Items. Selling magic items is problematic. Finding someone to buy a potion or a scroll isn’t too hard, but other items are out of the realm of most but the wealthiest nobles. Likewise, aside from a few common magic items, you won’t normally come across magic items or spells to purchase. The value of magic is far beyond simple gold and should always be treated as such.