Lucius Foxhound
First Post
Tom Cashel said:So I would say that if you choose to stay in the summoned monster (and it would be an easy thing to shift back into the receptacle), then you "disappear" when the summoning spell ends. If you can't get back to within range of your receptacle before the magic jar ends, you die, per the spell. Keep in mind that the caster probably has at least 8 hrs. to figure out a way to do this...
Where does it say in the spell description that you "disappear" when the summoning spell ends? Since the spell definitely says that it doesn't work across planes, and it's also made very clear in the spell description that if you're in a monster that dies, you go back into the magic jar, it doesn't seem to be that big of a leap to say that a monster who goes back to his home plane wouldn't take you with him or make you "disappear."
Tom Cashel said:It doesn't say anything about "unless it's your familiar" in the highlighted sentence. The spell is pretty clear about what you can do while inside the receptacle. Assuming that familiars are a special loophole is a mistake.
Hmmm. If you want to go by what it "doesn't say" in the PHB, there's a whole host of rules that need changing. It also doesn't say in the spell description that the character's link with his familiar is severed. Not does it say that other mental links are severed.
Tom Cashel said:The spell only says that you can attack (possess) creatures on the same plane. Once you're in the body, it works "as polymorph other."[/B]
Actually, this is interesting. The SRD is different from the PHB here. Magic Jar is a tad more powerful that Poly Other. The descrpition in the PHB specifically says that the character is given a creatures "automatic abilities" .. and it lists a troll's regeneration as one of them. You wouldn't get this under Poly Other.
Oh, and Tom ... it is YOU who needs to GET A GRIP, you MAGNIFICENT bastard, you.
