Magical Items and Feat Requirements

Vlos

First Post
I thought I had read somewhere that a character can use a magic item to meet the requirements of a feat, but I cannot find the reference to it, Does anyone have reference to this or am I imagining things again?


For example: If a character has a 11 INT and a Crown of +2 INT, can he then take the Combat Expertise feat which requires 13 INT.


I know that if you lose the requirements at any time you can no longer use the feat.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

SRD:
PREREQUISITES
Some feats have prerequisites. Your character must have the indicated ability score, class feature, feat, skill, base attack bonus, or other quality designated in order to select or use that feat. A character can gain a feat at the same level at which he or she gains the prerequisite.
A character can’t use a feat if he or she has lost a prerequisite.


You have a 13 int? cool, you qualify ;)
 

Just remember: if you lose the item with the prerequisite, you immediately lose the use of any feats based on that prereq. To use your example, if the Crown of +2 Int is removed, the character cannot use the Combat Expertise feat until his/her Int goes back up to 13 (whether by putting the crown back on, gaining +2 Int from a spell, or whatever).
 

Thanks for the replies. It appears that using a Magic item to meet the requirements for a feat is acceptable. Is this a house ruling or can anyone mention a document reference where I can look it up?

Thanks
 

It's not explicit in any core rulebook. I'd call it "generally accepted wisdom". I think one of the designers made an informal web comment that they would consider allowing uit. (Pretty sure it's not in the FAQ.)
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top