D&D 4E messy's 4e newbie questions thread

messy

Explorer
42. can paladins be of any alignment?

43. assuming the answer to #42 is "yes," if a paladin isn't of good alignment, does his/her divine challenge still do radiant damage?

danke.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Balesir

Adventurer
42. can paladins be of any alignment?
Yes, but paladins must pick a deity and have the same alignment as the deity. See below for more on this.

43. assuming the answer to #43 is "yes," if a paladin isn't of good alignment, does his/her divine challenge still do radiant damage?
Yes - ish. There is a Blackguard ("anti-paladin") class as well as the straight paladin, but there's also a more fundamental conflict in 4E's cosmology that explains why "bad" paladins might have radiant powers whatever their alignment. The key is that they serve gods, and there is a big opposition between the gods and the demons. Demons tend to be vulnerable to radiant damage, but divine servitors often aren't, even if they are "evil".

There is a sort of vibe where evil gods are still part of the "divine order", but demons definitely aren't.

The original books discouraged PCs following evil deities, but the mechanics should work fine even if they do. I tend to find that evil characters make poor dramatic roles, personally (though Unaligned is fine - possibly the best), but that's more of an aesthetic thing.
 

Tequila Sunrise

Adventurer
Yes, but paladins must pick a deity and have the same alignment as the deity. See below for more on this.
Note that like the cleric, the paladin doesn't actually lose anything rules-wise for violating his or her alignment restriction. (Though the paladin's superiors might do something to punish the heretic, like putting a price on his or her head.) So effectively, there is no restriction.
 

42. can paladins be of any alignment?

43. assuming the answer to #43 is "yes," if a paladin isn't of good alignment, does his/her divine challenge still do radiant damage?

danke.

Yes, and your Divine Challenge still does radiant. There should be another option, though. I think the blackguard class (kind of a striker) does lots of necrotic damage.

There are domains that will change a few of your powers to necrotic damage (the Death domain), but only at-will attacks, not Divine Challenge.

I read somewhere that a paladin of sacrifice (Essentials) must be good-aligned, but as I can't find rules text backing it up, it might have been a house rule.
 

I don't know if anyone has said this yet, but Wizards of the Coast has a subscription service where you can get access to the Compendium (which has all the rules printed, and it's reasonably easy to search through if you know what you're looking for) as well as the Character Builder (a decent browser-based program that queues up the various choices and options you get, then does the math of character stats for you, and even generates a character sheet; two drawbacks are that you need to use Silverlight, so it won't work on some devices, and that the 5 year life of the ruleset has produced a lot of . . . let's say 'chaff,' so sometimes you end up scrolling through tons of sh***y options to find something good).

I think they're stopping updates to the Character Builder in April, to pave the way for NEXT, but I suspect they'll keep it active for a while. I don't recall how much it costs to subscribe: 3 or 7 bucks a month?
 

sabrinathecat

Explorer
Paladin is a Defender
Blackguard is a Striker.
Because Blackguard is a "subclass" of Paladin, in theory, I do not know why a Paladin couldn't take a Blackguard power, or vice versa. That mechanic is a little messy.

All gods have angels as servants, so all gods have paladins in their service. Paladin = "Defender of the Faithful". Orcus has Paladins. Corellon has Paladins. Moradin has Paladins. A blackguard of Corellon might be a little strange, but not necessarily wrong.
 

captpike

First Post
Paladin is a Defender
Blackguard is a Striker.
Because Blackguard is a "subclass" of Paladin, in theory, I do not know why a Paladin couldn't take a Blackguard power, or vice versa. That mechanic is a little messy.

it is a little odd but by RAW there are no such things as "blackguard powers" there are just paladin powers, its the main reason why a hybrid blackguard is better then a normal blackguard, rather then told you get power X, you can choice any paladin power you want, even one that marks.
 

Balesir

Adventurer
All gods have angels as servants, so all gods have paladins in their service. Paladin = "Defender of the Faithful". Orcus has Paladins. Corellon has Paladins. Moradin has Paladins. A blackguard of Corellon might be a little strange, but not necessarily wrong.
Actually, I'd dispute Orcus. All the other (plus Vecna and beyond) have paladins, for sure - but Orcus is a Demon Lord, not a God. His origin is Elemental/Primal (and then twisted), not Divine, so I don't think he gets paladins. He gets lots of demon servitors, though. And undead. Lots of undead.

Edit: this is by RAW, of course. If you want Orcus paladins in your house game, crack on!
 

33. what would be the effect of houseruling non-at-will powers to all be encounter powers (such that you get them all back at the end of an encounter; i ask because it seems like this would make things simpler)?

Messy. Things like Moment of Glory (Resist 5 all for all PCs) will be thrown every fight - and there will be a lot less tension in the game.

34. have the books been reprinted with errata?

No - and yes. Monster Vault, the Rules Companion, and the HoF* books all coem with errata.

36. what does errata mean when it mentions "rare" magic items (as i've seen no mention of this in the player's handbook)?

Added later - some magic items can't be bought from magic item shops or readily made and should only be given out as obscure treasure.

37. are sneak attack and hunter's quarry damage maximized on a critical hit?

Yes,

38. does push/pull/slide have to move its target in a straight line?

Pull - you have to move the target nearer the origin with each square moved.
Push - you have to move the target further from the origin with each square moved (normally three options)
Slide - whatever.

But no they don't.

39. following up #33, can someone give an example of how daily powers are significantly more powerful than encounter powers?

Villain's Menace - a level 1 fighter daily does [2W] damage - and gives you +2 to hit and +4 to damage on all subsequent attacks against that target if you hit.

Almost all summon spells are dailies.

40. is it true that the higher of dexterity or intelligence is not added to armor class when wearing heavy armor?

Correct.

41. does (creature) size matter (for anything mechanically)?

Not that often directly. (You can't Tide of Iron creatures larger than large). Although larger creatures normally have higher fortitude and lower reflex defences - the mechanics reflect rather than dictate the game's fiction.

42. can paladins be of any alignment?

Yes. As long as they are idealists likely to get themselves killed in defence of their allies... (If they don't want to do this or use divine challenges they don't become paladins, so Chaotic Evil ones are rare).

43. assuming the answer to #43 is "yes," if a paladin isn't of good alignment, does his/her divine challenge still do radiant damage?

Yes.
 

Actually, I'd dispute Orcus. All the other (plus Vecna and beyond) have paladins, for sure - but Orcus is a Demon Lord, not a God. His origin is Elemental/Primal (and then twisted), not Divine, so I don't think he gets paladins. He gets lots of demon servitors, though. And undead. Lots of undead.

Edit: this is by RAW, of course. If you want Orcus paladins in your house game, crack on!

Right, technically Primordials are not Gods, and Demon Lords are considered to be Primordials, and are definitely not divine. Thus their followers don't get access to the Divine power source, and aren't clerics or other Divine classes. There IS however an Elemental power source, and some classes which use it (introduced in the Heroes of the Elemental Chaos supplement, one of the very last 4e supplements to be released). There are some cool things in there. Some Demon Lords like Orcus might also be tied to Shadow, another power source that some classes can tap into. Interestingly though Lolth IS technically a God, can she have clerics? We don't really know, though I haven't read the primary 4e sources on Drow, so perhaps there are answers there. Anyway, 4e makes demons and such things more distinct from divine creatures than previous editions did. You can of course fairly trivially hack that.
 

Yes. As long as they are idealists likely to get themselves killed in defence of their allies... (If they don't want to do this or use divine challenges they don't become paladins, so Chaotic Evil ones are rare).

There ARE 'Blackguards' which appear in Heroes of Shadow. They are not necessarily evil, but they are paladins built around VICES instead of virtues, so they typically are at least anti-heroes if not actual villains.
 

Lolth can have clerics. Even PC clerics. She has domain support. Same with Asmodeus. (Lolth and Asmodeus are apparently multiclassed with "god".) Other archdevils sponsor warlocks only.
 

Lolth can have clerics. Even PC clerics. She has domain support. Same with Asmodeus. (Lolth and Asmodeus are apparently multiclassed with "god".) Other archdevils sponsor warlocks only.

Well, Asmodeus (and potentially other Arch Devils) are DEFINITELY divine, so yeah, they can use/grant divine power. Amusingly Asmodeus also technically has the service of Angels too! Though obviously one would assume that the only ones in his service are actually devils, or close to it. Actual uncorrupted angels CAN however serve the legions of hell, though presumably they only do so if the stakes involve something to do with the Primordials trashing the Multiverse or somesuch.
 

messy

Explorer
44. since the nonproficiency penalty for weapons in 3rd edition was a static -4, why is the proficiency bonus (which seems like a similar mechanic) in 4th edition variable?

grazie.
 

44. since the nonproficiency penalty for weapons in 3rd edition was a static -4, why is the proficiency bonus (which seems like a similar mechanic) in 4th edition variable?

So you can make more meaningful distinctions between different weapons for example that swords are more accurate but axes hit harder.
 

44. since the nonproficiency penalty for weapons in 3rd edition was a static -4, why is the proficiency bonus (which seems like a similar mechanic) in 4th edition variable?

grazie.

There's only two numbers: +2 or +3. +2 for standard weapons, +3 for blades. It's not hard to memorize.

It also reinforces the divide between weapon and implement. Implements don't get those bonuses, but they don't need to either. The usual gap is 2 points, both in terms of attack bonus, and in terms of enemy AC/NADs.
 


45. what's the difference between free action and no action?

mahalo.

A Free Action IS an action, thus you must be able to take actions in order to use one (IE not unconscious, dead, etc). "No Action" is something that literally doesn't require the user to do anything at all, thus even if you're unconscious you can utilize 'no action'. No action is generally only available for certain items that do things automatically on your behalf, or a very few powers or feats where there is a setup and then the effect happens later in response to something else.

Another point being, a no action triggered power might happen without the character's choice. It 'just happens', you don't get to decide to use it or not (this may not always be true, there's going to be some DM judgment on these things). A Free Action always allows for and requires a choice by the character. Free Actions also happen only during the 'action portion' of turns, whereas a no action might potentially happen even in the start or end of turn sequence (IE when things like saves and conditions are processed).
 
Last edited:

captpike

First Post
45. what's the difference between free action and no action?

mahalo.

you may only make one free action attack per turn, you may make any number of no action attacks on your turn.

if your stunned, unconscious or dominated you cant take free actions. but you can always take no actions
 

45. what's the difference between free action and no action?

mahalo.

"No actions" are extremely rare for PCs. Power Strike (after the errata) is the only one I could name, but I suspect there's a few triggered actions using that too. "No actions" can be used even if a PC is unconscious, dominated, stunned...

A few monsters use "no actions". Beholders, for instance, have a "no action" that lets them eye ray anyone who starts their turn near the beholder, unless the beholder is unconscious (this is specifically stated in the Random Eye Ray ability). This means a stunned beholder is still very dangerous.
 

An Advertisement

Advertisement4

Top