Metamagic and domain spells

Do you believe a cleric can attach metamagic feats to domain spells, thus filling up a higher level domain slot for that day? I see no reason why he couldn't, but I wondered if others agree with me, and if there's an official answer to that question somewhere that I've missed.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Mouseferatu said:
Do you believe a cleric can attach metamagic feats to domain spells, thus filling up a higher level domain slot for that day?
Yes. So long as you're using a domain spell in a domain slot, you're golden.
 

Lord Pendragon said:
Yes. So long as you're using a domain spell in a domain slot, you're golden.

That's as I thought. I'm just wondering if it's ever explicitly stated anywhere. Since it impacts a character I'll be playing in the future, I want backup for my position. ;)
 

This is from the 3.0 faq. Not sure if it's been addressed in 3.5 yet.
srd said:
The Player's Handbook says that a cleric prepares one or the other of the two domain spells available to the character at each level each day. This implies that the cleric cannot prepare a lower-level domain spell in a higher-level slot. It also implies that a cleric cannot use metamagic feats on a domain spell since that would require a higher-level slot. Wizards who have specialized in a school of magic would seem to face a similar restriction. Is this what was intended?

No, that's not what was intended, though the wording of the rules certainly implies that is the case. Each domain slot can hold a spell only from one of the cleric's domains, but a cleric can use metamagic on domain spells (which makes them fill up higher-level slots), or the cleric can simply prepare a domain spell in a higher-level domain slot.
 

Remove ads

Top