Metamagic Questions

Hello all,

Here's the scenario, but taken a step at a time for some clarification as well as logical reasoning. Thanks in advance for your patience/assistance.

The basics ---> 10th level Wizard/3rd level (Earth) Elemental Savant with INT 30 and Energy Substitution (Acid) + Energy Admixture (Acid) + Heighten Spell. The wizard also has a Lesser Rod of Empowerment (upto 3rd level spells empowered, 3xday).

I memorize an Energy (Acid) Admixed Fireball as a 7th level spell. Since I have the +1 DC with Acid descriptor spells, how does the spell get resolved? Two saves (one at 23 for the fire, the acid part at 24?) or one save (at 24?).

Ok, now the sticky widgets...

Can I use the Rod of Empowerment on the spell-metamagiked complex noted above, since it is technically a 3rd level spell for most circumstances?

Ok, now what if I add Heighten to the complex (making it a Heightened [7th level] Acid Admixed Fireball?). What is/are the save DC and the bigger question...can the Lesser Rod of Empowerment be used in conjunction?

Thanks a bunch.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Okay, this is how I'd rule:

One save, at DC 10 + 3 (spell level) + 10 (Intelligence) +1 (acid descriptor) = 24

No, you cannot use the Rod of Empowerment you own on a 7th level spell. You cannot Heighten it to a 7th level spell, it is regarded as 7th level spell for memorization.

If you were to Heighten an Acid Admixtured Fireball 4 levels, it would be regarded as a 11th level spell for memorization purposes, and have a save DC of 28 (given the above Intelligence). And so it would STILL not be possible to use your Rod of Empowerment.

You could however use Energy Substitution (Acid) on the fireball and Empower it with your rod, as Energy Substitution does not affect the level of the spell at all.

And no, I would not let you use your rod on a Heightened Acid Substituted Fireball...
 

Remove ads

Top