Monks disarm w/ tiny hands?

Phoenix8008

First Post
Unarmed attacks are Tiny weapons per the PHB which gives monks a severe disadvantage when disarming. I thought I remembered something about the weapon size increasing if you were using both hands or something like that. Anybody else remember this or am I crazy?

Also, what would the unarmed BAB for a FTR2/MNK6 be? And could you give me what the progression of UBAB would be for the next few levels assuming I only add Monk class levels? That way I can see the pattern of UBAB progression to know how to advance it after that.

Thanks all.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Disarming as a monk is terrible due to the weapon size rule.

Perhaps, for a monk, it should be tied to creature size instead? Yes, yes, I know. House Rules.
 

Phoenix8008 said:
Unarmed attacks are Tiny weapons per the PHB which gives monks a severe disadvantage when disarming. I thought I remembered something about the weapon size increasing if you were using both hands or something like that. Anybody else remember this or am I crazy?

Sword and Fist, p. 69: "Double Handed Disarm"
 

This is something I hope is addressed in 3.5. I have wanted to play a disarm-specialist monk, but the current rules make it a stupid choice.
 

Number47 said:
This is something I hope is addressed in 3.5. I have wanted to play a disarm-specialist monk, but the current rules make it a stupid choice.

Agreed. Silly, isn't it? A very cool visual is that of a monk disarming his opponents with grace and style.
 

F2/Mk6 attack bonus is +6/+1 for unarmed or normal attacks. Figure out what your unarmed attacks would be for your monk levels only (+4/+1 in this case) and replace the first to-hit with your BAB (+6 in this case). That is, you can use the monk's additional attacks instead of the additional attacks that you normally get for your BAB.

F2/Mk7: +7/+2 (BAB +7, monk +5/+2)
F2/Mk8: +8/+3 (BAB +8, monk +6/+3)
F2/Mk9: +8/+3 (BAB +8, monk +6/+3)
F2/Mk10: +9/+4/+1 (BAB +9, monk +7/+4/+1)
F2/Mk11: +10/+5/+2 (BAB +10, monk +8/+5/+2)
 

As Dingleberry have referenced, if a monk or any unarmed attacker attempt to disarm his opponent using BOTH hands, his "weapon" size category is equal to his own size. An ogre monk, for example, can disarm anyone as if he is wielding a Large weapon, using both hands.

Does anyone have any objection to that rule?
 


Awesome! Thanks for all the help everybody. I think that about wraps up my questions on the monk. I hope it helped some others too that may not have known where and what these rules were, like me.

Thanks again for the help.
 

As Dingleberry have referenced, if a monk or any unarmed attacker attempt to disarm his opponent using BOTH hands, his "weapon" size category is equal to his own size.

From memory, that's given as an optional variant, correct?

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top