This question is kind of jumbled up in my mind, so pardon me if it doesn't make any sense.
Do monsters earn experience? I know they do if they take character classes, but do monsters who don't advance by character class gain experience? If not, are they prohibited from casting spells with XP components?
Spell-like abilities have no XP costs. Spells as a special ability describe the circumstances for somatic and material components, but not for XP. Rules for monster advancement say that intelligent, non-humanoid monsters advance by HD and not character class (i.e. not by accumulating a certain number of experience points).
Can a Solar who normally has miracle prepared as a cleric spell actually cast it? Where does the XP expenditure come from? It seems silly for it to be included as a spell if they can't cast it, but how do you tell whether they have enough experience to get the spell off? Since dragons advance by age rather than experience total, can dragons who choose limited wish or vision as one of their sorcerer spells spend XP to cast them?
Could creatures who don't earn experience but who can cast spells craft magic items? How would they cover the experience costs for such an endeavor?
I feel like there's a reference somewhere that specifically addresses this, one way or the other, but I can't find it. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Do monsters earn experience? I know they do if they take character classes, but do monsters who don't advance by character class gain experience? If not, are they prohibited from casting spells with XP components?
Spell-like abilities have no XP costs. Spells as a special ability describe the circumstances for somatic and material components, but not for XP. Rules for monster advancement say that intelligent, non-humanoid monsters advance by HD and not character class (i.e. not by accumulating a certain number of experience points).
Can a Solar who normally has miracle prepared as a cleric spell actually cast it? Where does the XP expenditure come from? It seems silly for it to be included as a spell if they can't cast it, but how do you tell whether they have enough experience to get the spell off? Since dragons advance by age rather than experience total, can dragons who choose limited wish or vision as one of their sorcerer spells spend XP to cast them?
Could creatures who don't earn experience but who can cast spells craft magic items? How would they cover the experience costs for such an endeavor?
I feel like there's a reference somewhere that specifically addresses this, one way or the other, but I can't find it. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.